Slow Cooker Venison Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Fantastic recipe, in my opinion. The red wine adds so much flavor. I wanted more veggies so I added 4 sliced carrots and 3 small diced potatoes. I didn't have tomato sauce so I used a 6 ounce can of tomato paste mixed with 1.5 cups of water. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I was looking for a basic recipe to tweak to my taste and this is exactly that! I took the other reviews into consideration and added carrots and potatoes (just wouldn't be a stew without it). I also can't seem to make a recipe without adding my favorite smoked paprika and also thought I'd add a dash of liquid smoke to enhance the coziness of the dish. I like lots of flavor, so a good schwack of herbs and a little extra tomato sauce did the trick. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sooke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This was really easy to put together and had a great overall taste. I would suggest adding a little sugar to sweeten it up or maybe some sweet peppers and corn if you rather sweeten it naturally. I did add another 1/2 cup of water (1cup total) and two red potatos, it gave the stew a great texture. Overall a really amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat McKenzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made this with neck of springbok so unfortunately there were a lot of little bones. However the flavour was good and the meat very tender. I think I will add potatoes next time i make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirls2014

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I've done this recipe before an loved it, this round I added rosemary and it was fabulous. As a side note to you wild game lovers who hate the gamey flavor. Soak your venison in water with a table spoon of white vinegar it will help eliminate the gamey flavor. You can do this for almost any cut of venison. I never have games flavors with my dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Cooked it with elk that a friend was wanting to get rid of and it was awesome. I added a potato, but not sure it needed it. I did not have any parsley so used some cilantro, but the followed the rest exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was a very good recipe. I modified it some (more tomato sauce, potatoes, mushrooms, bay leaf, corn, peas, green beans, garlic). My venison was as lean as they come and it was not dry. How can meat be dry and tough when it soaks in juice for 6 hours+? The meat didn't taste gamely. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palominopopeye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Finally have a venison stew recipe that I loved, did add Worcestershire and was great also used Red Potatoes. YUmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
My husband wanted to make sure I saved this recipe. I think he gave it 10 stars!!! Just a few changes...used about 12 oz tomato sauce and one cup low sodium chicken broth instead of the wine and water. ( I didn't have beef broth or I probably would have used that) IT WAS DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was not very good. I followed the recipe because I had never cooked venison but this was awful. For one thing, the only vegetable with substance was celery. I would recommend adding potatoes and carrots as the stew was not hearty at all. I cooked it on low for 8 hours but the meat practically dissolved. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States