Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Wonderful flavor, but you do NOT need to add salt. Four out of five stars because of the salt. I just used garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Loved this. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
WOW! So good. I followed some of the other suggestions and soaked the meat in milk over night. I added onion, potatoes, carrots and mushrooms. It was fabulous. I used golden mushroom soup. This will definitely be my go-to recipe for venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinginbama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Worked out very good... husband was very please. Only thing i changed was instead of garlic salt I used fresh minced garlic. I also added a can of beef broth and a cup of red wine. I cooked mine for about 5 1.2 hours for a little rareness.. turned out great! i served with garlic and butter green beans, as well as baby red potato and red peppers in a olive oil onion and spice sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This is the best recipe I've found for slow cooking tougher cuts of venison. The Round steaks I used came out so tender and flavorful. After reading other reviews, I added 1/2 cup red wine and used fresh garlic. I also added fresh sliced mushrooms. After 6 hours I removed the meat, onions and mushrooms with a slotted spoon and thickened the gravy with a couple tbsps of flour. I served it stroganoff style, over egg noodles with sour cream on top. Simply outstanding, and so easy. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Here are my tweaks. I poured a capful of cider vinegar over the meat first to help with the gaminess. Substituted a pinch of granulated garlic for the garlic salt. Left out the soy sauce. Added half a soup can of water. It's almost like stroganoff. Next time I will add sour cream as well. Awesome recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
It was great! Will use this recipe a lot. The only thing I will do next time is to cut the roast into lets say 3x3 inch pieces. This will let the sauce mingle with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was great. The only thing I did different was browned the roast on all sides before putting in crockpot. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZDSRTROZE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parks, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Didn't even taste like deer meat! Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is an excellent option for venison. Great to start in the morning and even better to come home to later on! Makes the house smell amazing! This is an easy recipe to tweak too depending on your preference in seasoning and you can even add veggies as others have. I've used tougher cuts of venison with this recipe also with great results. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States