Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
The flavors were amazing in this so 4 stars for that. I did tweek the recipe slightly. I let my roast soak in milk overnight to take some of the gamey flavor out. I added a few more splashes of worcestershire sauce, used minced garlic instead of salt, and a lower sodium mushroom soup. I also added 1/2 cup of red wine. Unfortunately, after slow cooking for 8 hours the venison was till a little tough for my taste. My husband and 2yr old daughter gobbled it right up though. I would recommend slow cooking for atleast 10-12 hours. My father in law tried this same recipe a few days later but left his roast in the crock for 12 hours. The meat was incredibly tender and had an awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
i used cream of mushroom with roasted garlic and added baby potatoes and carrots and next time will add mushrooms...awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe was a hit. I changed the tablespoon of garlic salt to a tbs. of minced garlic. I also soaked the venison overnight in milk. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I added a can of cream of chicken soup. (I wanted more gravy.) Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This recipe was absolutely fabulous!! The only thing I did differently out of personal preferance was cream of celery instead of the cream of mushroom. After we got done eating my bf told me I better make sure I saved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
slow cooked it for 5 hours in the crock pot turned out great but instead of using a pre-mixed onion soup mix i made my own all it takes is onion powder, onion flakes, bouillion beef and black pepper i think this makes the taste much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
My father ages his venison in ice water for near so many days-he just keeps adding more ice and draining off the bloody water. Then they package and freeze for 3 months without using meat.I've been blessed to not have to taste gamey venison. This is how we cook our venison roast in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I used a nice piece of venison rump, added 1/2c. dry white wine and Braggs instead of soy sauce, cut up a carrot and a couple of potatoes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by souki911

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makawao, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
My family ate every bite of this recipe tonight. I used Backstrap cutlets because that's what I had defrosted. My only substitution was a package of brown gravy mix for the French onion soup mix. I didn't have any of the soup mix and in my opinion they taste very similar. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States