Slow Cooker Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I may have written a review for this in the past, but I want to post again. I've made this 4 or 5 times over the last year or 2. Here is how I make it: 3 pounds of venison, and I usually use the tough cuts, 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, half a cup of red cooking wine, a couple T. of Worcestershire sauce, carrots, potatoes with the skins on and mushrooms. I add a little bit of water for the bottom. After 6 or 7 hours on low, this comes out so delicious and the meat is so tender, it falls apart. The soup makes such an awesome gravy. So many people mentioned that the dry onion soup mix made it too salty. I say leave it out and everyone adds salt to taste after they've dished it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
My 6 year old got his first deer last winter. We had it made into roasts and steaks and jerky and whatnot. He said he would not eat it at all. So I found this recipe and decided to try it. I did not tell him what the meat was. He ate so much of it there was barely enough for anyone else. He Loved it as did the rest of the family. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I'm not a venison lover but inherited several tenderloins. I have to say, this was better than any pork roast, beef roast, you name it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I used 2 cloves fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I also added 1/4 teaspoon basil and 1/4 teaspoon oregano. Instead of using mushroom soup, I had to get by with 2 cups of water. Definitely not as rich, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Very tender and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This recipe was delicious. I did not have garlic salt so I added minced garlic instead. Everyone loved it!!! There was a lot of gravy at the end. Next time I would most likely add potatoes and carrots to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Truocchio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Great recipe. Easy to prepare. Smells great. I will use less garlic salt and soy sauce next time. Very salty. I also like to add mushrooms and use the Onion and Mushroom soup mix instead of just the onion one. Great over noodles or by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
We really loved this recipe! I had never made venison before (or even eaten it I don't think) so we loved the recipe! Followed it to a T and it was great! Check out the review on my blog! http://heatskitchen.blogspot.com/2013/02/venison-roast.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Great recipe! Thank you for posting. Thanks to previous previous reviews added red wine & a little water. Used fresh garlic and skipped garli salt. So tender. Definitely my new standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livininwisconsin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States