Slow Cooker Venison Chili for the Big Game Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made this chili for a group of people at our camp and everyone loved it! I made a few changes to the recipe because I had 1lb of venison & 1lb of Antelope, I used 1 lg red onion, 1/2 of a lg. sweet onion, 1 8oz tomato sauce, about 2.5 oz of tomato paste, 2 14.5 cans chopped tomatores w/green chilles & 3 tbl. chili powder plus salt & blk pepper. I was very surprised how delicious it was. I will definetley be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Best chili ever! I made one change and it made it perfect. I substituted chili beans instead of the canneli beans. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was my first venison recipe, and I'm so thrilled it turned out well. From reading the other reviews, I only added half of the tomato paste, and had 1 lb venison, 1 lb ground beef. This was a great recipe. For our personal taste, I will add a can of tomato sauce next time, as we like it with a bit more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
AWSOME!!!!!! Venison is the only meat we eat int his house other than pork or occasionally chicken.... We use kidney beans also in ours...... Very very tasty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
this was delicious!!! only change I made was I added 28 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of what was written in recipe. Next time, I may also add potatoes to it as well as carrots or other types of vegies but I will definitely make this again!! thank you ALLRECIPES, I love your site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I made this to freeze and bring on tour with my orchestra, and everyone who tried it went crazy over it! I did a couple things wrong though: I had a solid 3 lb block of venison that had to be used all at once and used regular ground pork because I couldn't find any sausage! Since I had way too much meat, I added a big can of crushed tomatoes to the slow cooker and thankfully everything came out fine anyway. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gansevoort, New York, USA
Living In: Blooming Grove, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charity Hope Washko
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Fantastic! My husband brought home some deer he caught last week for the first time and we needed some recipes. This turned out wonderful. We left out the beans, though. We are not bean chili people. It was still magnificint. Added a tad bit more of the venison too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I had never made venison chili before and this was the best chili that I ever had. My whole family loved it. My three year old who has never liked chili before eats it right up. I had to substitute a few ingredients because it is what I had. I used a can of tomato sauce and a can of tomato soup instead of a can of tomato paste. I left out the beans because we are not big bean eaters. I used a packet and a half of chili seasoning instead of chili powder. I will be making this recipe all winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Awesome recipe! Very tasty and easy to make. I modified a bit to accommodate what I had; I used cayenne pepper (2-3 dashes) because I didn't have chili powder. I also added about one cup of wine and substituted black beans instead of cannellini beans. It came out really great! Very satisfying. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Wonderful recipe! It has been a hit every time I make it. Have substituted antelope meat for the venison and added in some pork to make it go farther, and added a little more spice to make it a little hotter. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States