Slow Cooker Venison Chili for the Big Game Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Amazing recipe, added green and red pepper, and used Beer brats uncased and chopped for the pork. Best chili I have made. Recommend highly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
this was delicious!!! only change I made was I added 28 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of what was written in recipe. Next time, I may also add potatoes to it as well as carrots or other types of vegies but I will definitely make this again!! thank you ALLRECIPES, I love your site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This was good, but not quite sure what it needed. The only changes I made were 2 cans of beans and I added 1 small of can of tomato sauce and a mostly drained can of tomatoes. I also only had 1/2 lb of sausage and ground venison. Unlike most reviewers, I didn't think it was too tomatoey. I did think it was a bit too thick, even with the added liquid. It just seemed something was missing. I have quite a bit of ground venison, so I'll be making it again and I think maybe I'll put some bell pepper, and maybe something more bbq?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Made it today and the house smells wonderful and it tastes fantastic. Now, if I can keep my hands off of it till dinner time I will be doing great. Thanx for the recipe. I will be sure to make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this with 1 lb. ground venison otherwise I followed the recipe exactly as is. I think next time I would omit the tomato paste and use tomato sauce along with more crushed or chopped tomatoes. Very good though as recipe directs. I was pleasantly suprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was my first venison recipe, and I'm so thrilled it turned out well. From reading the other reviews, I only added half of the tomato paste, and had 1 lb venison, 1 lb ground beef. This was a great recipe. For our personal taste, I will add a can of tomato sauce next time, as we like it with a bit more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Best chili ever! I made one change and it made it perfect. I substituted chili beans instead of the canneli beans. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Wonderful recipe! It has been a hit every time I make it. Have substituted antelope meat for the venison and added in some pork to make it go farther, and added a little more spice to make it a little hotter. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made this chili for a group of people at our camp and everyone loved it! I made a few changes to the recipe because I had 1lb of venison & 1lb of Antelope, I used 1 lg red onion, 1/2 of a lg. sweet onion, 1 8oz tomato sauce, about 2.5 oz of tomato paste, 2 14.5 cans chopped tomatores w/green chilles & 3 tbl. chili powder plus salt & blk pepper. I was very surprised how delicious it was. I will definetley be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
The family is scraping the pot as we speak so I have to say it's a keeper. The only change I'll make is either half the tomato paste or switch it with tomato soup next time because it was a little too tomatoey. We add sour cream and cheese so it cut back on the tomato flavor in the end. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States