Slow Cooker Venison Chili for the Big Game Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Great chili! Had about 2 lbs of venison, so I doubled the tomatoes, garlic, and onion. I added a chopped jalapeno to the onion garlic mix to give the chili some extra heat. I also added a can of kidney beans, and about a quarter teaspoon of cinnamon at the end, and ommitted the tomato paste, adding a few tablespoons of tomato sauce instead. I let it cook overnight (12+ hours) and it was the perfect consistency. I was SO tempted at the beginning to add some liquid to the pot, as it looked really thick. I'm glad I didn't because it made it's own "juice" during the cooking process. I love that it didn't need any salt added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Gave it 4 stars as tomato paste made it too "tomatoey." Added another can of diced tomatos. 1 can with 2 pounds of meat definitely not enough. Will try again without the tomato paste. This should tone down the tomato taste and the thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I made this to freeze and bring on tour with my orchestra, and everyone who tried it went crazy over it! I did a couple things wrong though: I had a solid 3 lb block of venison that had to be used all at once and used regular ground pork because I couldn't find any sausage! Since I had way too much meat, I added a big can of crushed tomatoes to the slow cooker and thankfully everything came out fine anyway. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gansevoort, New York, USA
Living In: Blooming Grove, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I used venison breakfast sausage instead of pork sausage and it was delightful!! No one could belive that it was venison!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I had never made venison chili before and this was the best chili that I ever had. My whole family loved it. My three year old who has never liked chili before eats it right up. I had to substitute a few ingredients because it is what I had. I used a can of tomato sauce and a can of tomato soup instead of a can of tomato paste. I left out the beans because we are not big bean eaters. I used a packet and a half of chili seasoning instead of chili powder. I will be making this recipe all winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made this chili for a group of people at our camp and everyone loved it! I made a few changes to the recipe because I had 1lb of venison & 1lb of Antelope, I used 1 lg red onion, 1/2 of a lg. sweet onion, 1 8oz tomato sauce, about 2.5 oz of tomato paste, 2 14.5 cans chopped tomatores w/green chilles & 3 tbl. chili powder plus salt & blk pepper. I was very surprised how delicious it was. I will definetley be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chwashko
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Fantastic! My husband brought home some deer he caught last week for the first time and we needed some recipes. This turned out wonderful. We left out the beans, though. We are not bean chili people. It was still magnificint. Added a tad bit more of the venison too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
The family is scraping the pot as we speak so I have to say it's a keeper. The only change I'll make is either half the tomato paste or switch it with tomato soup next time because it was a little too tomatoey. We add sour cream and cheese so it cut back on the tomato flavor in the end. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Awesome recipe! Very tasty and easy to make. I modified a bit to accommodate what I had; I used cayenne pepper (2-3 dashes) because I didn't have chili powder. I also added about one cup of wine and substituted black beans instead of cannellini beans. It came out really great! Very satisfying. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Wonderful recipe! It has been a hit every time I make it. Have substituted antelope meat for the venison and added in some pork to make it go farther, and added a little more spice to make it a little hotter. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States