Slow Cooker Venison Chili for the Big Game Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Easy and yummy!! I did sub the tomato paste for tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Amazing recipe, added green and red pepper, and used Beer brats uncased and chopped for the pork. Best chili I have made. Recommend highly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
this was delicious!!! only change I made was I added 28 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of what was written in recipe. Next time, I may also add potatoes to it as well as carrots or other types of vegies but I will definitely make this again!! thank you ALLRECIPES, I love your site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This was good, but not quite sure what it needed. The only changes I made were 2 cans of beans and I added 1 small of can of tomato sauce and a mostly drained can of tomatoes. I also only had 1/2 lb of sausage and ground venison. Unlike most reviewers, I didn't think it was too tomatoey. I did think it was a bit too thick, even with the added liquid. It just seemed something was missing. I have quite a bit of ground venison, so I'll be making it again and I think maybe I'll put some bell pepper, and maybe something more bbq?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Made it today and the house smells wonderful and it tastes fantastic. Now, if I can keep my hands off of it till dinner time I will be doing great. Thanx for the recipe. I will be sure to make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this with 1 lb. ground venison otherwise I followed the recipe exactly as is. I think next time I would omit the tomato paste and use tomato sauce along with more crushed or chopped tomatoes. Very good though as recipe directs. I was pleasantly suprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was my first venison recipe, and I'm so thrilled it turned out well. From reading the other reviews, I only added half of the tomato paste, and had 1 lb venison, 1 lb ground beef. This was a great recipe. For our personal taste, I will add a can of tomato sauce next time, as we like it with a bit more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Best chili ever! I made one change and it made it perfect. I substituted chili beans instead of the canneli beans. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Wonderful recipe! It has been a hit every time I make it. Have substituted antelope meat for the venison and added in some pork to make it go farther, and added a little more spice to make it a little hotter. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made this chili for a group of people at our camp and everyone loved it! I made a few changes to the recipe because I had 1lb of venison & 1lb of Antelope, I used 1 lg red onion, 1/2 of a lg. sweet onion, 1 8oz tomato sauce, about 2.5 oz of tomato paste, 2 14.5 cans chopped tomatores w/green chilles & 3 tbl. chili powder plus salt & blk pepper. I was very surprised how delicious it was. I will definetley be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States