Slow Cooker Venison Chili for the Big Game Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Excellent! Easy! Tried it and family loved it. Sister can's cook and hates to cook. She tried it and her family loves it also. Now she has a recipe she feels confident about making. Win/Win situation :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Good recipe, thanks for sharing. I did alter it a bit because I determined pretty early on that it was going to be much thicker than we like to serve it. I did not have pork sausage so I added rosemary and salt and pepper to a lb of ground venison to mimic a sausage flavor. I added it to the deer steak that the recipe called for. I also added in a can of red kidney beans, along with the white. I followed the recipe up to the point of adding it all together into the crockpot. I then added a dash of Worstershire sauce, a dash of soy sauce, and about 1/4 cup of whiskey. After the chili had cooked in the crock for about 4 hours, I added another 1/2 cup or so of water, as it was cooking dry. It was a big hit. Guests ate it in bowls, on hotdogs, and in Scoops chips topped with nacho dip. I will make it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Rave reviews from our company and zero leftovers! I added some celery, a can of green chiles (I only had regular canned tomatoes) and a can of kidney beans to the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I took this recipe, and used the kidney beans, added corn, sliced olives, and instead of the tomato paste I added a can of crushed tomatoes and a touch of tomato sauce. Also adding in a dash of cinnamon definitely worked well. I also used venison breakfast sausage instead of pork sausage and it worked very well! Top it off with a dollop of sour cream and it is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was an absolutely wonderful meal! I decided to only use venison for the meat source and added dried chilis..will definitely be coming back to this again this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
simply incredible, blew everyone away how good it was. I will say I have never had chili anywhere this good...maybe I just got lucky...but this recipe rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allan Richard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Have this in the slow cooker now and am seriously looking forward to trying it! One note - in the recipe it does not say what to do wiht the chili powder... I just added it to the slow cooker with the other stuff, hope that's right! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisha5186
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I changed the onion for red onion and used Chipotle hot sauce. I added two diced jalapeños to the onion and garlic to give it an extra kick. I used black beans instead of the ones they recommend. I also added Cayenne pepper and cumin to the chili powder. Overall it came out so good I couldnt share it with everyone because I ran out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Sicard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Viki1030
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Yaaay...big hit. The tomato paste was way to sweet...perhaps add less than the whole 6oz. We wanted it spicy so I added cayenne pepper to get the heat we wanted...only thing not shown in picture is the beer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States