Slow Cooker Venison Chili for the Big Game Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I changed the onion for red onion and used Chipotle hot sauce. I added two diced jalapeños to the onion and garlic to give it an extra kick. I used black beans instead of the ones they recommend. I also added Cayenne pepper and cumin to the chili powder. Overall it came out so good I couldnt share it with everyone because I ran out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Sicard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Viki1030
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Yaaay...big hit. The tomato paste was way to sweet...perhaps add less than the whole 6oz. We wanted it spicy so I added cayenne pepper to get the heat we wanted...only thing not shown in picture is the beer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I had to use a can of tomato sauce instead of paste and it turned out great. I served it over baked potatoes and the kids asked for seconds!! Super easy and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Easy and yummy!! I did sub the tomato paste for tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Amazing recipe, added green and red pepper, and used Beer brats uncased and chopped for the pork. Best chili I have made. Recommend highly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
this was delicious!!! only change I made was I added 28 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of what was written in recipe. Next time, I may also add potatoes to it as well as carrots or other types of vegies but I will definitely make this again!! thank you ALLRECIPES, I love your site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This was good, but not quite sure what it needed. The only changes I made were 2 cans of beans and I added 1 small of can of tomato sauce and a mostly drained can of tomatoes. I also only had 1/2 lb of sausage and ground venison. Unlike most reviewers, I didn't think it was too tomatoey. I did think it was a bit too thick, even with the added liquid. It just seemed something was missing. I have quite a bit of ground venison, so I'll be making it again and I think maybe I'll put some bell pepper, and maybe something more bbq?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Made it today and the house smells wonderful and it tastes fantastic. Now, if I can keep my hands off of it till dinner time I will be doing great. Thanx for the recipe. I will be sure to make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this with 1 lb. ground venison otherwise I followed the recipe exactly as is. I think next time I would omit the tomato paste and use tomato sauce along with more crushed or chopped tomatoes. Very good though as recipe directs. I was pleasantly suprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was my first venison recipe, and I'm so thrilled it turned out well. From reading the other reviews, I only added half of the tomato paste, and had 1 lb venison, 1 lb ground beef. This was a great recipe. For our personal taste, I will add a can of tomato sauce next time, as we like it with a bit more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States