Slow Cooker Veggie-Beef Soup with Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I loved this soup and it was so easy to make. I was surprised that only one other person mentioned adding liquid to this soup. I even left the juice in the two cans of tomatoes and still found this extremely dry. I took another reviewer's recommendation of adding a can of beef broth (low salt) and it was perfect. I purchased a bag of frozen "soup vegetables" that already had the okra and potatoes in it. Made it that much faster to make. I can't wait to have some tomorrow since soup usually tastes better the second day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was really good. Altho I added 2 beef boulion cubes and 1 can of tomato sauce, a bay leaf, italian herbs. It came out pretty much like the soup i make on the stove but i never thought of adding okra..i loved it. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was a great recipe. I added about 1 1/2 C of beef broth, used frozen veggies w/ okra added and did not add the ketchup. I also added 1 6 oz. can of tomato sauce. I've made this with the slowcooker and on the stove. Both were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Great! Amazing how much flavor is in this soup! Kids love it and they are getting all their veggies! I saved time by using frozen vegetable soup mix (because it contains okra and potatoes in addition to the regular vegetables) I tripled this recipe and served it at my child's school for a program his class was having. Great cold weather soup, eat on it all day long right out the pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This soup was excellent. A great soup for the slow cooker, we could not stop eating. Usually, half ends in the freezer for left overs. None left over here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tophat24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I couldn't wait to break in my new crock pot with this recipe. I added some red pepper flakes and a few good shakes of oregano, which gave it more of an italian kick. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I thought this was pretty good, nothing fantastic, just pretty good. My husband, however was VERY pleased with it and my two year old that only likes mac and cheese ate 2 bowls! So it gets a five because the family was happy and it was very easy to make. I did add 2 cans of water and 2 beef bullion cubes. I also just used a bunch of different frozen veggies I had. (I save small amounts of leftover veggies and freeze them for soups like this) I also cooked on low for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Great throw together recipe. My household doesn't really do hamburger meat so I used ground turkey instead. Added a little worsestershire as some suggested. Great over rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freida M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Really enjoyed this recipe. Tasted like something my mother used to make. A nice alternative to a beef stew and a lot healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Great soup. Even if you decide to add your own flavor to this it's a great start. I have made this countless times and the pot is always empty after dinner is served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States