Slow Cooker Veggie-Beef Soup with Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Great! Amazing how much flavor is in this soup! Kids love it and they are getting all their veggies! I saved time by using frozen vegetable soup mix (because it contains okra and potatoes in addition to the regular vegetables) I tripled this recipe and served it at my child's school for a program his class was having. Great cold weather soup, eat on it all day long right out the pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I think the garlic and tomato paste makes this soup too sweet for my taste. Also it took a lot longer to cook than recommended in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Great recipe. We added a lot more okra than was called for and we topped it off with fresh parmesan. We'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was really good after I added some chili powder and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly with one exception: I used ground chicken breast, not ground beef. It all turned out quite good! 4 hours on low is probably good enough - I turned it to high for the last 2 hours because it took so long to hear up (what with the veggies being frozen and all), but in the end I would say my veggies and okra were over cooked, so I would stick with the creator's cooking reccomendation. Great left over too - I took a small portiona and used some corn starch to thicken it up - also turned out good. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Like LUZIANNADANNA, I bought the frozen veggie soup mix since it had potatoes and okra already in it. It took about five hours for mine to cook, but that didn't bother me. Also I only used one can of diced tomatoes. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. This is a staple item for cold, winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I used this as a base. I did not add frozen veggies, but canned ones instead because I did not have any frozen ones. Did not add any okra because I was afraid it would get slimy. Needed some seasoning, but other than that it is a good base. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very nice and very easy. Used ground turkey & topped with shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was a great recipe. I added about 1 1/2 C of beef broth, used frozen veggies w/ okra added and did not add the ketchup. I also added 1 6 oz. can of tomato sauce. I've made this with the slowcooker and on the stove. Both were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I loved this soup and it was so easy to make. I was surprised that only one other person mentioned adding liquid to this soup. I even left the juice in the two cans of tomatoes and still found this extremely dry. I took another reviewer's recommendation of adding a can of beef broth (low salt) and it was perfect. I purchased a bag of frozen "soup vegetables" that already had the okra and potatoes in it. Made it that much faster to make. I can't wait to have some tomorrow since soup usually tastes better the second day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States