Slow Cooker Veggie-Beef Soup with Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
As others have noted, use chicken, beef broth, etc. to add more liquid or you will not have enough. This is an absolute keeper! It is good with or without Parmesan cheese sprinkled over the top. I also made it on the stove top in no time at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
If you make this soup, be sure to use frozen or canned potatoes, as raw potatoes will not get tender in 4 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This was pretty good, used frozen okra and 2 cans italian style tomatoes. I think I let it cook too long as the veggies were a little over done, but other than that, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Great throw together recipe. My household doesn't really do hamburger meat so I used ground turkey instead. Added a little worsestershire as some suggested. Great over rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freida M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This soup was excellent. A great soup for the slow cooker, we could not stop eating. Usually, half ends in the freezer for left overs. None left over here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tophat24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I couldn't wait to break in my new crock pot with this recipe. I added some red pepper flakes and a few good shakes of oregano, which gave it more of an italian kick. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I loved this soup and it was so easy to make. I was surprised that only one other person mentioned adding liquid to this soup. I even left the juice in the two cans of tomatoes and still found this extremely dry. I took another reviewer's recommendation of adding a can of beef broth (low salt) and it was perfect. I purchased a bag of frozen "soup vegetables" that already had the okra and potatoes in it. Made it that much faster to make. I can't wait to have some tomorrow since soup usually tastes better the second day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was a great recipe. I added about 1 1/2 C of beef broth, used frozen veggies w/ okra added and did not add the ketchup. I also added 1 6 oz. can of tomato sauce. I've made this with the slowcooker and on the stove. Both were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very nice and very easy. Used ground turkey & topped with shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I used this as a base. I did not add frozen veggies, but canned ones instead because I did not have any frozen ones. Did not add any okra because I was afraid it would get slimy. Needed some seasoning, but other than that it is a good base. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States