Slow Cooker Veggie-Beef Soup with Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Good starter base but as written it was just bland and not soupy enough for us. I read a lot of reviews and followed others suggestion on seasoning and adding 2 cups of beef broth. A very hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is my second time making this soup. The kids had never had okra before and they went crazy over it, loving the taste! I used beef broth instead of the water. Needs about 7 hours on low, not 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Excellent! Never had okra before but always looking for something new and healthy. May even leave out the beef just for a vegie soup. I used low sodium vegetable stock in place of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homecookedgrl
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was delicious! I used a 16oz bag of All Natural brand "vegetables for soup" and added one can of seasoned diced tomatoes and one can of Italian stewed tomatoes and did not drain them prior to pouring them into the crockpot. I also added a can of red kidney beans (drained) and two small cans of sliced mushrooms (drained) to the mix. I'm actually eating this at work as I write this. I ommited the ketchup, but added a lot of seasonings: garlic, Italian, Oregano, more garlic, parsley, salt and pepper. I can't wait to make more of this. Simply wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homecookedgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
We liked this one! I threw in about 1 cup of thinly sliced cabbage, 1 tsp. minced garlic and a tbs. Louisiana hot sauce and some additional basil and oregano. Substituted 1 can of Rotels for the plain diced tomatoes. Also added 1 tbs. balsamic vinegar. Most soup recipes will stand up to 'tweeking' very well. We definitely like things with some sass!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
soup was fantastic. i left out the potatoes and poured the soup over prepared egg noodles instead. added a bit of red peppar flakes to ground turkey, and poured the juices and all into the soup! Yummy! Used a frozen fiesta blend that included garbanzo and kitney beans, and also used a lot more frozen okra than called for. Really turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Easy and very tasty. We nearly always make enough to have next day ! Hint: toss the potatoes into the microwave for 5 minutes, then go! I also like to soften up 1/2 cup of mulled barley, and include that. Thin or thicken as you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
We all loved this soup, especially my boyfriend who said he did't like okra! I cut the tomatoes down to 1can so it wouldn't taste like italian stew, and added about 20oz of beef broth instead. I added a small amount of leftover it. sausage to it and deleted the ketchup. Will definately make this again. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was FANTASTIC, but I did make a few modifications. I used one 12 oz bag of frozen mixed veggies, and one 12 oz bag of frozen cut okra. Instead of the ketsup, I added an 8 oz can of tomato sauce. For the liquid, I used a can of low sodium beef broth, and refilled the can 3 times with water and it was the perfect consistency. I also added some garlic powder, basil and oregano. This took longer than 4 hours for the potatoes to soften, eventhough they were cut up fairly small. I would suggest closer to 6 hours. Great base recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Needs alot more seasonings and spices. Love all the ingredients by themselves, but very plain without extra spice...perhaps lots of Italian herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States