Slow Cooker Veggie-Beef Soup with Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The basic recipe is 4 stars, but I added more spices, extra water, 2 boullion cubes, and tomato sauce which made it very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a good Recipe- however- I agree with Foxy about the potatoes. We let it cook on low for 6-8hrs and the potatoes were done then. Also- we added a package of brown Gravy mix and it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My husband and I love love this soup. what a great meal and easy to make. I used Weber bbq sauce since we don't like ketchup otherwise all the ingredients we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNCITYMEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Extremely flavorful - even when frozen. Love this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I really like this, but I modified it a LOT. My son, who hates veggies with a passion, LOVED THIS!! :) First, I just cooked it on the stove. I used 1 can of beef broth and added water as necessary. I also added a pound of hot sausage. Per one of the reviews, I added some bay leaves and a tablespoon of oregano. I added barley. i substituted Rotel instead of the tomatoes. i also added cayenne pepper to my taste. Instead of slow cooking, after browning the meat I added everything and then boiled for 3 minutes, and simmered for about 2 hours. The result is wonderful. Add some parmesan cheese to each bowl, if desired, for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I love this soup. It is a good base for many others I made the following changes: 1) Steamed diced potatoes for 30 minutes before adding 2) Used low-sodium beef broth instead of water 3) Added cumin, garlic powder, and chili powder at the end. Next time ill add italian spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newgolfer1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Have to run out and teach a yoga class so this is a perfect healthy meal to leave behind for the family. I added some spice (chili peppers and McCormicks Steak seasoning). I left out the okra and potatoes. I also cooked it on the stove top because I'm short on time today....still yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westseattlebodyworks
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Didn't enjoy this, was really bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I did as previous raters suggested and added 2 beef bullion cubes w/2 cups of water. I also added dried oregano, basil and parsley along with 2 bay leaves. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Okay ,well this was okay. I really liked the addition of Okra to soup which I have never used before. The potatoes did not cook so next time I will leave them out and boil them before I serve. Also was a touch bland so add some spices. Or cover with beef broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States