Slow Cooker Vegetarian Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Charlotte Gouvier
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Maybe I chopped my veggies too big, but at 6 hours on low my veggies were no where near ready, so I had to do it another 2 hours on high. Also, I put about a tablespoon and a half of salt. Besides that, I followed the recipe exactly. It's not bad, but it's pretty bland. I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I haven't tasted it yet but after doing some research I found out that kidney beans need to be boiled before being cooked in a slow cooker and is contains dangerous toxins that need to be boiled at temperatures HIGHER than those in slow cookers, which makes this recipe unsafe as is. Be sure to boil those kidney beans first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I thought this was an excellent recipe with lots of flavor. I made a few minor adjustments, including cooking it with a parmesan rind. I've seen that done in other minestrone recipes, and I think that contributed to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This isn't bad, it just lacks a lot of flavor. There was too much liquid. I'd cut it down to 4 cups and then add another 1/4 to 1/2 cup of pasta also. The spinach is a really nice touch, but it needs a lot more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This was an amazing vegetarian minestrone! I made a few substitutions (added a can of garbanzo beans, omitted the green beans, zucchini and spinach, added asparagus). The seasonings were just right, the flavor was amazing and my husband requested his serving without pasta and he ate two bowls! I think I will hang onto this recipe as a great base for making soups in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I needed a vegetarian soup to take to work for a soup lunch and I made the slow cooker vegetarian minestrone. It was wonderful!!! Everyone wanted the recipe. I made a few changes. I don't like kidney beans, so I used cannelloni beans and I added a can of black beans. I also added 1 tablespoon fresh rosemary. I used small shell pasta and a lot more of it; I cooked 1 1/2 cups for 6 minutes. I added the zucchini 30 minutes before serving; it was perfectly cooked. I will definitely make this again even though I'm not vegetarian. Diane R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I used slightly different veggie mixed based on what we like and what was in the fridge, but used the same basic recipe and it turned out nicely. My hubby loved getting his veggies in such a yummy way and though my young kids are not fans of Minestrone, I really enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very good and filling. We're not vegetarians so I used 4 cups of the vegetable broth and 2 cups of beef broth. I only put in 1 cup of frozen spinach and used a bag of frozen vegetables. I also used colored veggie pasta. Everything else I kept the same. I definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angall7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is actually a little dull and I sautéed onions, etc., ahead of time to get every bit of flavor I could. Wanted to love this but didn't. That said it is satisfying enough and is providing an easy lunch as leftovers. But no one else in my family will revisit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Delicious and so healthy. This is the first veg soup I have ever made. Really enjoyed making it and it was a big hit with family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States