Slow Cooker Vegetarian Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I've made this recipe twice already and it's quickly becoming a favorite to my girls that don't eat meat. I haven't found a need to change anything as it's great just the way it is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Everyone loved this soup. I couldn't fit the last step into the crockpot, so I switched to a bigger pot on the stove for the final step. Served with a rustic, hearty bread, it is perfect for winter weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I want to make this for a Lenten soup supper this week so I decided,to try it this evening. I didn't have time for the slow cooker so I just made it in a large pot, I read the comments before I began. My critical husband & a visiting family friend thought it was delicious & to be added to our family staples. To make the most of the favors in the ingredients I added things differently than given for the slow cooker. First I sautéed the garlic & onion in about a tablespoon of olive oil. I added the celery to this, then the crushed tomatoes; while these simmered, I added the carrots. We have a deck garden of fresh herbs so I used them + dried for those I didn't have. To the tomato mixture I added about 1-T-fresh Oregano, the dried thyme, black pepper, fresh parsley, & fresh spinach. When this began to boil I added the vegetable broth, kidney beans, & remaining vegetables. When these came to a slow boil, I added the macaroni using varied vegi colored elbow macaroni & salt. When the pasta was cooked, we ate. We topped the soup with the Parmesan as described & it was fantastic. The favors were perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Perfect for a winter night. My slow cooker only had room for 1 can of crushed tomatoes and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This recipe was a hit. I did it on the stove very low instead of the crock pot. We found it very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kremlin, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Used this recipes on stovetop with a very low burner. It came out very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
followed recipe exactly very good soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Frankly, I am shocked that something this easy to make can be so darn delicious. I'm so glad I made a huge batch, so I could freeze the rest and have some later. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Great soup with great flexibility to tweak it and experiment with. I did change the recipe a bit because of what I had on hand. Used lentils instead of beans, added double the garlic, used real tomatoes instead of canned but only because I had some I needed to use up. I will use the can next time even though the fresh ones worked just as great. I did need to add tomato paste because of using the fresh tomato. I also omitted green beans and added an extra zucchini. Perhaps I shouldn't be rating this because I changed it so much but I truly believe with or without my changes, this is a great recipe. I'm not vegetarian and I still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Could have added more beans, probably not whole can though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States