Slow Cooker Vegetarian Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Very good basic recipe. I have two suggestions. First I found you couldn't taste the garlic and onion. Next time I sauteed them before throwing them in. Second, the pasta soaks up all the broth especially if you have any leftovers. I would add the pasta to each bowl as served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I want to make this for a Lenten soup supper this week so I decided,to try it this evening. I didn't have time for the slow cooker so I just made it in a large pot, I read the comments before I began. My critical husband & a visiting family friend thought it was delicious & to be added to our family staples. To make the most of the favors in the ingredients I added things differently than given for the slow cooker. First I sautéed the garlic & onion in about a tablespoon of olive oil. I added the celery to this, then the crushed tomatoes; while these simmered, I added the carrots. We have a deck garden of fresh herbs so I used them + dried for those I didn't have. To the tomato mixture I added about 1-T-fresh Oregano, the dried thyme, black pepper, fresh parsley, & fresh spinach. When this began to boil I added the vegetable broth, kidney beans, & remaining vegetables. When these came to a slow boil, I added the macaroni using varied vegi colored elbow macaroni & salt. When the pasta was cooked, we ate. We topped the soup with the Parmesan as described & it was fantastic. The favors were perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Used this recipes on stovetop with a very low burner. It came out very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I've made this recipe twice already and it's quickly becoming a favorite to my girls that don't eat meat. I haven't found a need to change anything as it's great just the way it is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I'm not a vegetarian, but I liked this soup. This is one slow cooker recipe that I will make again (and there aren't many). Tasty and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Needs a little kick for my liking, however it's a great recipe. I normally don't review recipes if I make a change but the changes I made were after the soup was almost done. As another reviewer stated, there wasn't enough liquid to support the elbows so I keep them separate. Put them in the bowls then ladled the soup over. Also added the green Tabasco. Perfect! There is a review that says the recipe is unsafe because the kidney beans need to be cooked first. I wanted to point out that the recipe calls for canned kidney beans which are completely cooked before canning! Duh. Enjoy the soup everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Frankly, I am shocked that something this easy to make can be so darn delicious. I'm so glad I made a huge batch, so I could freeze the rest and have some later. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was really good. I also cooked it in a stock pot and used mini shells instead of elbows. It was almost bland so I added smoked chipotle Tabasco and it was super yummy. I also make my veg stock from scratch and add a lot of garlic to it, so I did not saute the garlic and onions like others suggested. I will totally make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very good and filling. We're not vegetarians so I used 4 cups of the vegetable broth and 2 cups of beef broth. I only put in 1 cup of frozen spinach and used a bag of frozen vegetables. I also used colored veggie pasta. Everything else I kept the same. I definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Diddles Allen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This recipe was a hit. I did it on the stove very low instead of the crock pot. We found it very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kremlin, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States