Slow Cooker Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This came out quite good! I made minimal changes. I couldn't find an organic frozen veggie blend at my supermarket, so I threw in some frozen peas and corn and edamame and then I sliced up some baby carrots. I also was short on potatoes (only had three small ones, the equilent of just over one normal-sized potato). I didn't peel my potatoes because that's where all the nutrients are! This is the kind of recipe you can make with what's on hand and it turns out well.I added about an extra 1/8 cup of broth to my dumpling dough and after mixing with the fork I gave up and kneaded with my hands. I've never made dumplings before and don't know if that was wrong, but they came out yummy. I cut the dumplings with tiny cookie cutters in star and flower shapes and the soup came out so pretty! It's nice and thick and stewy. Next time I'll cook it another hour before adding the dumplings (I cooked 4.5 hours, added dumplings, cooked another 1.25 hours) just because I'd like the carrots and potatoes even softer. But no complaints. My toddler is usually a good eater but has been picky lately. She seems to really like this though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MehMeh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
soup has been cooking for 7 hrs but tastes very good, i am not adding dumplings just want a nice vegi soup. will cook longer to get the onions to cook more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
good but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toaster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Really like this soup! In addition to the canned tomato, onion, garlic, potatoes and barley, I used 1 bag frozen broccoli, and half a bag each of frozen corn and peas. I also added 3 carrots, 3 stalks of celery, fresh mushrooms, a can of white beans, and 8 cups of chicken broth. I kept the herbs the same. For the dumplings, I used butter instead of shortening and just scooped some broth from the soup to make them. Perfect for cold weather days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISSA771
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I used fresh carrots, fresh celery, fresh potatoes, pearl onions, diced canned tomatoes, canned sweet potatoes and frozen corn instead of frozen mixed vegetables. I replaced the broth with Lipton onion soup mix and omitted the barley (I hate barley. Grandma always made dumplings when I was around, sorry mom!) The sweet potatoes and pretty dumplings went into the slow cooker for the last hour. The sweet potatoes were there in the cupboard and just happened. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Photo by VERULA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was a nice easy soup. My family liked the dumplings. I didn't have barley so I used quinoa. It came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leonard Anderson
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Used less mixed vege, added carrot, bit more garlic and spices, added 200 grams of stewing steak, added one cup of water. The fat from the meat make a high difference. This is my second attempt and I reckon it's better than the first which followed the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leonard Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Wasnt bad, but I agree with the gummy feeling/taste review of Carlin A. Wont make again but if you prefer a brothy soup, this is more of a stewy feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Everyone liked it but my husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Made it today. ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! Family & neighbors all agree. Just the thing for a very cold winter night. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Greig

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States