Slow Cooker Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made this without the dumplings as I also just wanted a basic vegetable soup. This was very good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I modified it a bit, but basic ingredients and liquids the same. I added some chopped left-over roast beef to make it a meal. Very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Photo by LISSA771
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I used fresh carrots, fresh celery, fresh potatoes, pearl onions, diced canned tomatoes, canned sweet potatoes and frozen corn instead of frozen mixed vegetables. I replaced the broth with Lipton onion soup mix and omitted the barley (I hate barley. Grandma always made dumplings when I was around, sorry mom!) The sweet potatoes and pretty dumplings went into the slow cooker for the last hour. The sweet potatoes were there in the cupboard and just happened. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Really like this soup! In addition to the canned tomato, onion, garlic, potatoes and barley, I used 1 bag frozen broccoli, and half a bag each of frozen corn and peas. I also added 3 carrots, 3 stalks of celery, fresh mushrooms, a can of white beans, and 8 cups of chicken broth. I kept the herbs the same. For the dumplings, I used butter instead of shortening and just scooped some broth from the soup to make them. Perfect for cold weather days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I cooked this on high for over 5 hours and the potatoes were still not softened. Also, the barley gave the soup a gummy consistency and we thought the whole thing had a strange sour flavor. Liked the dumplings though! Next time I'll try them in a different soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MehMeh
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This came out quite good! I made minimal changes. I couldn't find an organic frozen veggie blend at my supermarket, so I threw in some frozen peas and corn and edamame and then I sliced up some baby carrots. I also was short on potatoes (only had three small ones, the equilent of just over one normal-sized potato). I didn't peel my potatoes because that's where all the nutrients are! This is the kind of recipe you can make with what's on hand and it turns out well.I added about an extra 1/8 cup of broth to my dumpling dough and after mixing with the fork I gave up and kneaded with my hands. I've never made dumplings before and don't know if that was wrong, but they came out yummy. I cut the dumplings with tiny cookie cutters in star and flower shapes and the soup came out so pretty! It's nice and thick and stewy. Next time I'll cook it another hour before adding the dumplings (I cooked 4.5 hours, added dumplings, cooked another 1.25 hours) just because I'd like the carrots and potatoes even softer. But no complaints. My toddler is usually a good eater but has been picky lately. She seems to really like this though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MehMeh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
good but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toaster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VERULA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was a nice easy soup. My family liked the dumplings. I didn't have barley so I used quinoa. It came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
soup has been cooking for 7 hrs but tastes very good, i am not adding dumplings just want a nice vegi soup. will cook longer to get the onions to cook more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States