Slow Cooker Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Loved the flavor of this soup. The only changes I made was to use a can of crushed tomatoes instead of the stewed tomatoes as my kids don't like "chunks" of tomatoes in their foods. I also added another can of veggies. Next time I will use a "smaller" pasta as I thought the fusilli "took over" the soup. I will use alphabet pasta next time. This is a great tasting soup and will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Very easy in the slow cooker and all my family loved it. Next time I think I'll use cubed beef instead of ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This is one of the best soup recipes I have ever tried. I make a double batch and freeze it every time. I just introduced it to my neighbour who wants a copy of this recipe as well. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This is a very good soup recipe. I did not use the can of mixed vegetables. Instead I added six small red potatoes cubed (as suggested in another review), with the skin on and 5-6 peeled carrots, cut into chunks. I tossed in some frozen peas at the end and used orzo, instead of the fusilli. It's yummy and easy to modify to suit your taste. Thanks Pharlan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Made this for the second time today! It's sooo good! Took other reviewers suggestions and used flavored tomatoes, fresh potatoes and carrots. I also added about 4 ounces frozen green beans. Also added a bay leaf and a pinch of cayenne pepper for a little kick. Delicous and hearty, perfect dinner for a cold fall day in the Midwest! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
We were not excited by the end results - we needed to season the soup to taste it at all, and pasta got mushy in leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This is my first successful attempt at making soup! Thanks for the wonderful recipe! I just wish there was a way to reduce the sodium and still have all the flavor this has! It was delish! We made it with ground elk meat and loved every bite! We'll make again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Served this soup for supper to my husband, my parents and young nieces. Everyone raved about it! I used ground turkey, and I added a pound of turkey sausage, and used flavoured tomatoes (garlic and basil). I only used 1.5 quarts beef broth, and used 0.5 quarts water (was worried about the sodium content and knew the flavoured tomatoes would help with taste). I also cooked it at low instead of high. Served it with biscuits! Will definitely be on the slow cooker rotation. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I have made this a handful of times since Dec. The only thing I do different is leave out the pasta and add fresh carrots, celery, potatos in quarters, and beef stew meat if I want meat added,I flour the meat and fry lightly the night before in olive oil. Then throw it in the next morning I have also used this for just vegetable soup. Vegetable soup goes great with Midnight Cuban Sandwiches on this site. I do have to find a good homemade beef broth in the future to cut back on the sodium level since my husband now has to watch his sodium intake. Any suggestions let me know. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Excellent soup. Only added oregano and cooked the pasta before adding to soup. Husband said 4 stars, but changed it to 5 stars when he helped himself to a second bowl!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States