Slow Cooker Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I use stew beef instead of ground beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I think this recipe is like the backbone of any good Vegetable Beef Soup, it's just up to each individual to 'tweak' it to their personal taste preferences. I do not use soy & Worcestershire but a tablespoon of Kitchen Bouquet. I prefer the Better Than Boullion brand for my beef base/broth, but a good alternative I've used (low sodium) is the Minor's Low Sodium. Shop around online for best prices. Sometimes I add garlic, sometimes not. One thing, no matter what recipe + 'tweaks' I've used to make VBS, I ALWAYS do (I learned this from my Mom) is I use whole peppercorns in the soup. We personally don't mind the 'bite' of a peppercorn, but if you do put the peppercorns in a large tea ball. Overall the use of whole peppercorns vastly improves the flavor of any and all VBS recipes (can't explain it, just know it to be true). One last thing: Cook noodles separately and never add to the soup pot if you plan on storing leftovers - they become a mushy, gross mess after the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I tweaked it just a little. I omitted the pasta, yet added a little barley. I used fresh vegetables rather than frozen, and I cooked it roughly ten hours rather than seven to ensure that the potatoes were fully cooked. Oh, I also added potatoes. With a splash of homemade pepper juice after serving, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Dog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe turned out great. My hubby swears its the best soup recipe I've tried. I left out the pasta and soy salt because I didn't have any on hand. I used 2 cubes of beef bouillon instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was very good, maybe a little too beefy. I did use fresh veggies instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
my pasta was mush by the time it was time to eat :( If I overlooked that, it was ok - nothing special. I did add potatoes I was trying to get rid of but it was just hard to eat around the yucky pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I was having a holiday luncheon and serving two different kinds of soup. DH made this one for me. He used about 1 1/2 pounds of beef stew meat cut into bite sized bits, home canned tomatoes, fresh vegetables instead of the canned or frozen mixture and added potatoes instead of the pasta. It was very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This recipe is just okay. I followed it as it was written and it tastes a lot like the canned vegetable beef soup. I tried it though because I thought the ground beef would be easier for my toddler to eat instead of the chunks of beef stew meat that this kind of soup usually calls for. Will probably not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
There are many versions of this recipe available which makes it perfect to customize to your personal taste. I started with browned ground beef from my freezer to speed up prep time on a busy day. . I used frozen veggies instead of canned and also added a can of tomato sauce to give soup a little more tomato-y flavor. Serve with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese and warm crusty bread and you have a great meal that appeals to oth adults and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
What a terrific, simple, hearty soup for a dismal day! I piddled around today, and ended up running out of time to make this in the slow cooker, so I just prepared as written on the stove. I simmered about an hour, and added some elbows about 20 minutes before serving. I made as written, but added a teaspoon of dried thyme and a shake of liquid smoke for more depth of flavor in addition to the other ingredients. Loved this & so did hubby. Thanks for sharing with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States