Slow Cooker Tuscan Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I went with other reviewers and added potatoes and left out one can of beans. Just a personal preference of liking potatoes with beef stew. I also added a little celery. The flavor was very good and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Thanks for the great recipe! I have to admit - I used it as a guide only - because my pantry was lacking this week - need to do some shopping! Still - it turned out great - and can't wait to make it again using your ingredients!!! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Easy to make, I added some extra spices to make it more flavorful. I also put in a large pot roast piece of beef since I don't like the cubes (they dry out too easy). Added a potato and 1 can of beans instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Bland & Boring. Followed the directions to a tee and it wasn't anything special. Added kosher salt and cayenne pepper to make it edible. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Not a big hit - too much burgundy wine flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I *loved* this stew. I made a few changes that were suggested by other people and a couple of my own... About an hour before it was finished, I checked on it and the broth seemed a little too thin for me, so I mashed about half of one of the cans of beans and added them to the stew. This helped a lot. I also browned the meat with flour a little as suggested before adding it to the slow cooker, which also helped... In addition, I added about 4-5 medium sized potatoes to it. The mix of beans and potatoes was perfect... I also used fresh garlic as opposed to the powder and threw in some other seasonings that I tend to like in things like this. I added celery, carrots and onions as well. I used a little water instead of the wine... And instead of cut stew meat, I instead got a whole beef roast and put it in... When it was done, I used a fork to pull it apart. I preferred it over meat chunks usually used in stews; The juices from the roast gave the broth a better taste and the meat itself was delicious in the stew. It was delicious served over buttered biscuits.. Since this was made for a family of two, I had a ton leftover. I put it in containers and froze it for later. This recipe is definitely saved for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Excellent flavor in this stew, the only thing I run into is that the carrots don't cook all the way, so I precook them just slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was delicious! I am really surprised that more people did not use the beans, they were great! I love potatoes but I did not miss them! I dusted my stew meat in 1/4 cup of seasoned flour and browned it in olive oil first. I added some things-chopped onion, celery, sliced fresh mushrooms, 6 minced garlic cloves, instead of the powder, Worcestershire sauce, pepper, seasoned salt, Emeril's Essence, and a bay leaf. I used beef consomme instead of the broth, and Great Northern beans. I added in some fresh minced parsley when I added the beans. If you think the stew is too soupy, the flouring/browning the meat will help thicken it and also when adding the beans, take out a quarter of them and mash them before adding to the crock pot and it will thicken it nicely. I served this with crusty sourdough rolls. I will love to make this again! The broth/gravy is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great recipe - The first time I followed the directionseryone enjoyed but felt somehing was missing. Since then I've made this several times and have modified to add potatoes and celery, increased the dried italian seasoning to 1 tblsp, 1/2 tblspn of onion powder and pepper - Highly recommneded ! - with the additions above I would rate 5 stars ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Very easy and surprisingly good. I followed the directions closely (I always do the first time). I may add onions next time. While I loved the beans I liked the idea of using one can beans and a few potatoes. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States