Slow Cooker Tuscan Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I love this recipe as a fall back for guests or a busy night. It doesn't require much effort and is so versatile. My family loves this stew. I've tried red kidney beans, pinto beans, garbanzos and a mixture with the northern beans. I love using a rich merlot with this as it really helps the flavor. Add a little chili powder to spice it up or some sour cream to cool it down. PS I always add more wine towards the end of cooking, a little more garlic, plus a bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I love this amazing stew! I brown all the chunks of meat before putting them in the slow cooker, gives another layer of flavor. I use great northern beans (mainly because at my store the cannelini beans cost 3 times as much) I also just use 1 can of beans and then add 2 medium red potatoes cubed. I serve this alongside a homemade loaf of crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This recipe was so bland that even adding garlic, salt & pepper at the end didn't help it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
B-O-R-I-N-G. But it at least made the house smell good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
A little on the tart side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I found this recipe in my slow cooker cookbook and only chose it because I had a lone can of tomato soup that I refused to eat by itself (yuck!). I swear, I did not expect it to come out so well. It tasted (and smelled!) AMAZING. I will make this over and over and over a million times. By the way, I used water versus the wine and beef bullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This one was definitely a keeper. I cooked it on the stovetop for a couple hours, since I didn't get going early enough to use the crock, but the meat was quite tender. Next time, I think I'll increase the Italian seasoning and add a bit of crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Everyone in our household loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We are not huge stew eaters, so I figured this would be a toss up. There was something about it that we didn't care for. For me, I think it was the wine I used because I still felt like I tasted it even after it cooked for 9 hours. My husband thought I used too much of one particular spice, though we weren't sure which one. Good recipe, perhaps....just not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I liked the beans in this dish. (which surprised me) My beef was quite dry. Might try again with a different cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States