Slow Cooker Tuscan Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was delicious! I am really surprised that more people did not use the beans, they were great! I love potatoes but I did not miss them! I dusted my stew meat in 1/4 cup of seasoned flour and browned it in olive oil first. I added some things-chopped onion, celery, sliced fresh mushrooms, 6 minced garlic cloves, instead of the powder, Worcestershire sauce, pepper, seasoned salt, Emeril's Essence, and a bay leaf. I used beef consomme instead of the broth, and Great Northern beans. I added in some fresh minced parsley when I added the beans. If you think the stew is too soupy, the flouring/browning the meat will help thicken it and also when adding the beans, take out a quarter of them and mash them before adding to the crock pot and it will thicken it nicely. I served this with crusty sourdough rolls. I will love to make this again! The broth/gravy is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was great! I substituted Campbell's condensed onion soup for the beef broth to add more flavor. I also omitted the cannelini beans this time, as I served over noodles. The beans will be great, however, especially for a hearty stew on a cold, winter day! Try this recipe--you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was delicious! Perfect for a cold night in. I couldn't find canneloni, and so I used Great Northern Beans, and I also added water where it called for wine (my husband doesn't like the taste of wine in food), but it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I *loved* this stew. I made a few changes that were suggested by other people and a couple of my own... About an hour before it was finished, I checked on it and the broth seemed a little too thin for me, so I mashed about half of one of the cans of beans and added them to the stew. This helped a lot. I also browned the meat with flour a little as suggested before adding it to the slow cooker, which also helped... In addition, I added about 4-5 medium sized potatoes to it. The mix of beans and potatoes was perfect... I also used fresh garlic as opposed to the powder and threw in some other seasonings that I tend to like in things like this. I added celery, carrots and onions as well. I used a little water instead of the wine... And instead of cut stew meat, I instead got a whole beef roast and put it in... When it was done, I used a fork to pull it apart. I preferred it over meat chunks usually used in stews; The juices from the roast gave the broth a better taste and the meat itself was delicious in the stew. It was delicious served over buttered biscuits.. Since this was made for a family of two, I had a ton leftover. I put it in containers and froze it for later. This recipe is definitely saved for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very Good! The only thing I might do different next time is use only 1 can beans and throw in some potatoes. I really missed potatoes in my beef stew. But this was fabulous even when going by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Great recipe!! I used chicken stock instead of beef because it is msg-free and I substituted a few potatoes for a can of beans. My family loved it, even my toddler and preschooler at it all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great recipe - The first time I followed the directionseryone enjoyed but felt somehing was missing. Since then I've made this several times and have modified to add potatoes and celery, increased the dried italian seasoning to 1 tblsp, 1/2 tblspn of onion powder and pepper - Highly recommneded ! - with the additions above I would rate 5 stars ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was a huge hit at my hunting camp this past fall. Its hard not to make a meal that the guys won't enjoy but they all requested that I make this again next season!! Great recipe and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Very easy and surprisingly good. I followed the directions closely (I always do the first time). I may add onions next time. While I loved the beans I liked the idea of using one can beans and a few potatoes. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Not awful but nothing special. Tastes like everything else that comes out of the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States