Slow Cooker Turkey and White Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I love this chili as a springboard to something custom. As a base it turned out good but was a bit to mellow for my taste. To added 1 Corona beer and then to taste (and mix) I added, salt, sugar (sweetening it up woke up some flavors), black pepper, more Cajun, and a little bit of Accent. I let it sit and absorb for a couple hours and it was pretty darn good. The recipe is mellow to begin with so you can't go to crazy with spices, otherwise you keep adding and adding and then it turns out crappy. It is what it is but beefing up the flavors a bit turned out good. Good stuff and healthy! I didn't change anything else. Next time I might try it with ground turkey and Italian sausage (sweet or mild).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Tried this to use my new immersion blender. Very tasty! I omitted the fresh peppers since I don't like spicy hot, and added about 1/8 tsp red pepper for a mild pepper flavor. Also I just put everything in the crock pot without pre-cooking and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Visually, this recipe is pretty dull. The taste is okay and I believe kids would like the simple flavours. I don't think I would make this again only because it wasn't that memorable in taste or otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I found this to be a forgiving recipe that was easy to modify and still came out great. I halved the recipe and, like many folks, used ground turkey breast. Also, I don't keep Cajun spices or hominy (because I don't like them), so substituted smoked paprika for the former and Garbanzo beans for the latter (which I blended with the one can of cannellini beans I had). Since I didn't have any more white-type beans to be dumped in intact, I used a can of pintos. And Despite cutting everything else in half, since I like spicy foods, I used three jalapenos (didn't have serranos). I served it topped with chunks of cheddar, a sliced green onion and fresh cilantro. Delicious! I suspect it'll be even better tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This recipe is great with modifications. I used 3 jalapenos and 1 poblano chili, 2 11 oz. cans of (Green Giant) chipotle white corn. I also used home made turkey stock and left over turkey (from Thanksgiving). Blended together one can of beans, corn and some stock as directed. I did not need the cumin or the cajun seasoning. I cooked everything on high in the crock pot for about 4 hours. I also added some corn starch thickening at the end. Everyone put on their own cilantro and cheese. The chili had a deep rich flavor without being too spicey. Everyone raved about it and went back for more (2 daughters, their husbands and my husband as well as myself). By far the best white chili I have ever made or tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I love this recipe, of course with a few changes. I use chicken istead of turkey, and i poach it instead of panfrying it. I also only use one onion instead of two. With those few changes its awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I removed the cilantro and substituted Great Northern beans for cannellinis - next time I might add more serranos and some chipotle or chili powder to add more kick. I'd also reduce the amount of broth, as mine came out a bit soupy. Overall a pretty solid recipe that's easy to tweak to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
On a rainy day this hit the spot with corn bread. Couldn't find turkey breast so used ground turkey breast meat and it worked out very well. Shared with family neighbors on this rainy day who loved it as well. Will keep this in mind during the cold season. TS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made this with 2 lbs ground turkey and more serrano pepper and seasonings. Just mushed the hominy and one can beans with a fork instead of all that trouble with the immersion blender. It came out great! Just through it all in the crockpot and let it go. Didn't pre-cook the ground turkey since it doesn't have a whole lot of grease wasn't worried about it ending up swimming in grease and it wasn't. Everyone at work loved it. Will defenitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy1166

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Slow Cooker Turkey & White Bean Chili Haiku: "Took some time to prep. (Way more than 20 minutes.) But well worth the wait!" I halved the recipe, only having a 14.5 oz. can hominy, but it was definitely time-consuming to cook and shred the turkey breast, and blend the beans/broth/hominy. (I don't have an immersion blender, so I just dumped the cans in my regular blender, then poured it into the crockpot.) I was a little disappointed that the Cajun seasoning and serrano pepper flavor didn't come thru very strongly, but bonus points for that - my spice-averse-yung'in was able to devour her bowl. I think if I make this again, I'll wait til I have some leftover chicken or turkey to shred, increase the spices, and wait to put the cilantro in at serving. (It virtually disappeared into a faint afterthought.) Otherwise, a very tasty chili w/ a glob of sour cream, green onions, and a handful of crushed tortilla chips in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States