Slow Cooker Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Very good. Great for turkey pieces. We like turkey year 'round, and this recipe will be adapted to a dry barbecue rub this summer. I love crock-pot recipes. When it comes to seasonings, always use your own judgement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made this yesterday. I used 1 pkg of legs & 1 pkg of thighs. I sprayed the foil with nonstick spray. Also I sprayed the turkey pieces a little so the seasonings would stick better to the meat. I tried 4 different seasonings out of my cabinet put a different seasoning on each piece of turkey to see which one turns out the best. After removing the pieces from the slow cooker & removing the foil, the turkey fell right off the bone. The bottom of the slow cooker was full of juices from the turkey pieces. I do believe that the turkey was in the slow cooker TOO long. The skin on the turkey was almost completely gone. When the bones were removed from the turkey they looked like they were all cooked out & dry. The meat was juicy & tender. Next time I make this I'll take the turkey out when the internal temp is 170 degrees in the thickest part of a thigh. Yes, I would make this again. Tom, from Wisconsin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
#3 on slow cooker at least
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I believe that Allrecipes has edited my original recipe. The amount of seasoning is approximately 3 teaspoons for all 6 turkey legs--works out to approximately 1/2 teaspoon each leg. Or, use as much or as little to your liking! Sorry for the confusion--not sure why the editors changed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
For those of you who are confused by the measurements for the poultry seasoning; 3 tsp = 1 TB. If you divide the 3 TB by the 6 legs, you will get 1.5 tsp per leg. Hope this helps with the confusion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
The Ingredient list calls for 3 TABLESPOONS of poultry seasoning. The Directions call for 1 1/2 TEASPOONS of poultry seasoning. Sounds great; I'll cross my fingers & give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
The amount of poultry seasoning given in the 'Ingredients' list and then given in the 'Directions' don't jibe. I'm pretty sure that the amount sprinkled on each turkey leg is supposed to be 1/2 tablespoon and not the 1 1/2 tablespoon shown in the 'Directions'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I like the idea and the simplicity, but it is way too heavy on the poultry seasoning. Next time I will use about 1/2 to 3/4 teaspoon per leg. Definitely remove the skin before serving. I also plan to wrap in some cubed potatoes and carrots with each leg. 2/4/12 - Now that the recipe has been corrected this goes to 5 stars for someone who does know the difference between a tablespoon and a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States