Slow Cooker Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Wow! First time ever making turkey. I was always too afraid it being bland and tough. But my turkey legs came out so flavorful (next time I will use a tad bit more salt). They were falling off the bone. My husband first words was WOW! Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This recipe was pretty good. I rated it four stars because I love turkey and it is awesome that I can skip the oven and make it in my slow cooker. Minus one star because of the nature of cooking the turkey legs for that long. The bone starts to splinter off and if you take bites you get slivers of bone in your mouth. So, when plating, cut the meat off and serve without the bone. It's disappointed because one of my favorite things about turkey legs is picking up the leg and eating it like I'm a lord in a medieval castle...lol. But, what can you do? In short, good, moist turkey that needs to be served off the bone. this is important if cooking for kids or company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
It's a good recipe, but don't tell me the picture matches the recipe.It doesn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
DANGER! Hard to give a rating, beause the turkey turns out great, but it MAY kill your crock pot! For that reason, I'm giving it 4 stars, with a few words of caution. Although I have made this delicious recipe 3 or 4 times, last night was a REAL problem! I mistakenly turned my cooker to high, instead of low. I heard some crackles, and passed it off to the turkey skin, but later that night when I put water in the crock to soak it, I ended up with water all over the counter! Those sounds were being made by the crock as it cracked! I called the manufacturer today, and they said that no matter what the recipe says, you should at least cover the bottom of the crock with fluid. I WILL make this recipe again in the future, but will add the fluid and souble check the temperature, in case that's what caused the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was good. I just eyeballed the seasonings and made sure the turkey legs were well coated. I sprinkled with poultry seasoning, garlic salt, pepper and some Tony Chacheres Creole Seasoning (which is really good to use in place of salt as it gives a lot of flavor). Wrapped in foil and put them in the crock pot for about 5 hours. They were falling off the bone. I liked having them wrapped in foil because it made for easy transfer and cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Don't you people know the difference between a Tablespoon and a teaspoon. Even the person that entered this wonderful recipe does not know the difference. Maybe to eliminate situations with measurements, and educate the cooks, at the same time - ALLRECIPES would put out a chart and make it very available and easy to use for all.Thank you, Thank you ALLRECIPES for all the wonderful recipes that you have offered us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent BeSaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Very good. Great for turkey pieces. We like turkey year 'round, and this recipe will be adapted to a dry barbecue rub this summer. I love crock-pot recipes. When it comes to seasonings, always use your own judgement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made this yesterday. I used 1 pkg of legs & 1 pkg of thighs. I sprayed the foil with nonstick spray. Also I sprayed the turkey pieces a little so the seasonings would stick better to the meat. I tried 4 different seasonings out of my cabinet put a different seasoning on each piece of turkey to see which one turns out the best. After removing the pieces from the slow cooker & removing the foil, the turkey fell right off the bone. The bottom of the slow cooker was full of juices from the turkey pieces. I do believe that the turkey was in the slow cooker TOO long. The skin on the turkey was almost completely gone. When the bones were removed from the turkey they looked like they were all cooked out & dry. The meat was juicy & tender. Next time I make this I'll take the turkey out when the internal temp is 170 degrees in the thickest part of a thigh. Yes, I would make this again. Tom, from Wisconsin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
#3 on slow cooker at least
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I believe that Allrecipes has edited my original recipe. The amount of seasoning is approximately 3 teaspoons for all 6 turkey legs--works out to approximately 1/2 teaspoon each leg. Or, use as much or as little to your liking! Sorry for the confusion--not sure why the editors changed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States