Slow Cooker Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I like the idea and the simplicity, but it is way too heavy on the poultry seasoning. Next time I will use about 1/2 to 3/4 teaspoon per leg. Definitely remove the skin before serving. I also plan to wrap in some cubed potatoes and carrots with each leg. 2/4/12 - Now that the recipe has been corrected this goes to 5 stars for someone who does know the difference between a tablespoon and a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
The Ingredient list calls for 3 TABLESPOONS of poultry seasoning. The Directions call for 1 1/2 TEASPOONS of poultry seasoning. Sounds great; I'll cross my fingers & give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These were good. Just need more seasoning for my taste. Will make again and play around with my seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Wow! First time ever making turkey. I was always too afraid it being bland and tough. But my turkey legs came out so flavorful (next time I will use a tad bit more salt). They were falling off the bone. My husband first words was WOW! Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I wanted to check this out...and by gosh it worked... Took the hind end of a turkey...seasoned, put in a carrot,celery & onion, double wrap in foil...did not tie it up...cooked for 9 hours. Pulled it out of the pot, opened foil & the dark meat people oh & Ah. Took another two (2)-- 14#ers, cut in half & joined them. the middle screamed for stuffing...put some in & tied up the bird. Cooked in a cooking bag...wow, when I learn how to down load the pictures..beyond wonderful. This recipe had me curious enough to work with, and the courage to try. So, thanks...Also, I took a bolt cutter for the leg nubs to remove the tendons after cooking...also easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
The amount of poultry seasoning given in the 'Ingredients' list and then given in the 'Directions' don't jibe. I'm pretty sure that the amount sprinkled on each turkey leg is supposed to be 1/2 tablespoon and not the 1 1/2 tablespoon shown in the 'Directions'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Don't you people know the difference between a Tablespoon and a teaspoon. Even the person that entered this wonderful recipe does not know the difference. Maybe to eliminate situations with measurements, and educate the cooks, at the same time - ALLRECIPES would put out a chart and make it very available and easy to use for all.Thank you, Thank you ALLRECIPES for all the wonderful recipes that you have offered us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent BeSaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I believe that Allrecipes has edited my original recipe. The amount of seasoning is approximately 3 teaspoons for all 6 turkey legs--works out to approximately 1/2 teaspoon each leg. Or, use as much or as little to your liking! Sorry for the confusion--not sure why the editors changed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Very good. Great for turkey pieces. We like turkey year 'round, and this recipe will be adapted to a dry barbecue rub this summer. I love crock-pot recipes. When it comes to seasonings, always use your own judgement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I made this with 2 turkey legs and thighs and it was enough dinner on day 2 it was great had a mini thanksgiving dinner in September will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodeomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Point, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States