Slow Cooker Tropical Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Just too sweet for us. The flavor got old quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I made this because I wanted something different and healthy in the slow cooker, and I was pleased. I did change the recipe based off of my available ingredients. I used 1tsp onion powder in lieu of onions (Im pregnant and the scent of onions makes me sick and I cant eat anything with onions), 1 tablspoon lime juice 1 tablespoon lemon juice 1 tblespoon BBQ rub (didnt have jamacian jerk-could have used 1.5-2tbsp) 1/2 tsp curry (its island-y) since I was worried about the lack of flavor from the other reviews and skipped the raisins and tyme as I didn't have any. Overall very good, different, and slightly sweet. NOT overly sweet but I did change the recipe. The curry wa a nice touch, could probably go to 1 teaspoon while still keeping the Jamacian flavor. It was a nice change to the average beef in the crock pot, and was healthy. I paired with steamed spinach and Tostones (delish!), and my husband scooped it up with pita bread. I would make this again, but feel comfortable playing with the recipe--although Im sure they would serve this over white rice in the islands, might be too plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Awesome recipe even though I misread "slow cooker" for "Pressure cooker" Duh. Anyway, cooked it in the Pressure cooker for 3 and a half hours - came out great!! I also modified it slightly because my family likes more spicy recipies. I added 2 heaping tbsps of hot paprika, fresh ginger (1 tbsp), half a cup of coconut flakes, and the juice of the lime (and a handful of hot peppers). I also used 1 tbsp of roasted cumin instead of the tsp of regular. The recipe is the bomb! If you like spicier food - this oughtta do it for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This was good. I served it with rolls as sugested. I liked it alot and will definity make it again. The minor prep made it a breeze to make, and my little brother had fun helping me with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
There are lots of good ingredients in this meal, and the flavors come through, but for my family they just didn't play well together. Another problem for me is that this was done in just 4 hours on low heat. I turned it down to Warm, but the potatoes were mush by the time we ate 2 hours later. We all tasted it, but no one ate it; none of us could figure out how to make it work for us, and we really like like Jamaican food. Thanks for the recipe, but we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was so easy and very tasty. I didn't have a lime, but I did have a lemon so I used the zest from that. Other than that, I made it as written. The raisins were a nice addition. I also added some sliced scallions on the top for added color. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This dish was very fragrant but we did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I would actually rate this 2 1/2 if I could. Made as written, with the exception that I had crushed pinnepple instead of pineapple chunks. I don't know if it would make a differnce, but I think I would prefer the chunks. I served it over rice. The thin soup base it makes is delicious over rice. I really enjoyed it, but husband did not care for it. He said it reminds him of pot roast, which I love and he does not care for. That is the type of dish it is. I was expecting it to have a little more "spice" flavor to it, but I do like really strong flavors. After tasting it, I did add salt to my plate, which helped improve the flavor a lot. I love the easiness of the this recipe-I actually used frozen chicken tenders. And, it is healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by locklear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Made as written - and it was extremely fragrant (which I don't prefer my meat dishes to be) and the types and amounts of spices seemed way out of proportion. I would definitely halve or omit the thyme and ginger, and consider adding something to give it some heat. The sauce is very liquid-y and could use some thickening as well. I don't think i'd make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalieR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States