Slow Cooker Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Great base for vegetarian marinara! I like, a few others did not peel the tomatoes before adding them to the crockpot and added red pepper flakes instead of cayenne to control the heat. (As an aside: if your sauce comes out too acidic, add a tablespoon of unsalted butter and that mellows it right away). When it had cooled after 10 hours, I whirled it around in the blender. Lovely texture...next time I might set some to the side before blending, so it is a bit more chunky. I also might add a carrot and celery to round out it's foundation. Thank you Michele for sharing; this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
It's a pity these cretins don't know the difference between tomato sauce and bolanaise sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Good but VERY SPICY!! I'd try with half the pepper. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Great way to use excess tomatoes from the garden. I didn't think I would have enough toms so I added some canned toms (crushed i think, since I don't like chunky sauces). I omitted the spicy peppers bc picante spaghetti/pasta sauce is just wierd to me. The sauce is a good basic recipe and turned out very well. Thanks for the recipe, def. a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Great way to use bulk tomatoes - thanks!I doubled recipe, used ~1t. red pepper flakes instead of cayenne, diced the tomatoes (didn't peel or remove seeds), added 1 T sugar, cooked for 15 hrs over night, and enjoyed a rich, mild sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is an awesome italian tomato sauce. I put in about 1/4 of the cayenne and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Love this! Tastes wonderful,and really makes the house smell great! Such an inviting, warm aroma...real comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLANCE23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I did not slow cook this for 10-15 hours as directed b/c I didn't have the time so I only did 4 hours on high. The flavors were great! It did end up condensing dramatically since I cooked it on high so maybe that is to blame, but it was super spicy! And, I only used 2/3s of the recommended cayanne per other's notes that this is way too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I am making this recipe again as we speak. I really like the fact that you can double it. I did add ground beef to it and used it for spaghetti. I used the other half as the sauce for a lasagna. We loved everything about it but didn't read the reviews before making it. My husband doesn't like spicy so I will also have to cut down the cayenne. I loved the spice but he said it was a bit much. He still couldn't stop eating it! I will keep this recipe for all homemade sauce because it was really easy and tastes great! Thanks for posting it. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
It was good, but very small and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States