Slow Cooker Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I am lucky, been cooking a long time and know intuitively how to make things yummy, so I usually am able to take any recipe and make it my own AND make it 5 star! I also am lucky because in Tucson, AZ, spring is Heirloom Tomato season, so I used my own fresh 12 tomatoes from the garden. For this recipe, I used a Vidalia Sweet onion and 10 fresh garlic cloves (see photo!), all minced very fine and sauteed in 1 Tof EVOO; when they were translucent after 5-7 minutes, added diced zucchini and sauteed all another 5 minutes with lid on low. Added all to the peeled, seeded and crushed tomatoes in the slow cooker on low...and went to bed! In the A.M., the juices had cooked off; it was a very rich, thick and chunky sauce. THEN I added spices but absolutely no cayenne. Wanted to keep it strictly tomato sauce for pasta; cayenne is too weird for us, but to each their own! What I DID add was garlic powder, fresh crushed oregano and fresh basil, 1 tsp. garlic salt and 1 tsp. pepper and let it sit on low for another hour. THEN...I tasted it. NOW is the time to really hone down the flavors to make this your very own concoction, with dried herbs, spices and especially if it needs salt. Ended up adding more salt (about two teaspoons total for the recipe), granulated garlic (this is normal for me, can't have too much garlic), onion powder, dried oregano, thyme, basil and ahem, some cumin. I love how this basic recipe lets me experiment! Every time different AND zesty! Thanks, Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Just Amazing! As soon as I tried it, I stqrted making a second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
, I was hoping the longer it cooked, the better it would become. Actually, it got worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Great base for vegetarian marinara! I like, a few others did not peel the tomatoes before adding them to the crockpot and added red pepper flakes instead of cayenne to control the heat. (As an aside: if your sauce comes out too acidic, add a tablespoon of unsalted butter and that mellows it right away). When it had cooled after 10 hours, I whirled it around in the blender. Lovely texture...next time I might set some to the side before blending, so it is a bit more chunky. I also might add a carrot and celery to round out it's foundation. Thank you Michele for sharing; this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
It's a pity these cretins don't know the difference between tomato sauce and bolanaise sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Good but VERY SPICY!! I'd try with half the pepper. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Great way to use excess tomatoes from the garden. I didn't think I would have enough toms so I added some canned toms (crushed i think, since I don't like chunky sauces). I omitted the spicy peppers bc picante spaghetti/pasta sauce is just wierd to me. The sauce is a good basic recipe and turned out very well. Thanks for the recipe, def. a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Great way to use bulk tomatoes - thanks!I doubled recipe, used ~1t. red pepper flakes instead of cayenne, diced the tomatoes (didn't peel or remove seeds), added 1 T sugar, cooked for 15 hrs over night, and enjoyed a rich, mild sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is an awesome italian tomato sauce. I put in about 1/4 of the cayenne and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Love this! Tastes wonderful,and really makes the house smell great! Such an inviting, warm aroma...real comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLANCE23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States