Slow Cooker Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Wow- this was WAY too spicy for my taste. Like last reviewer, I'm sure if I tone down the cayenne to 1/3 of the recipe it will be great. Rated this 4 stars but minimizing the pepper would make this a 5 for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Good recipe, not enough flavor for my taste though. Would add tomato sauce and tomato paste, and ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I've tried this method twice now, each time tweaking some of the ingredients to try for a better result. It just wasn't very good either time. I've had a much better result using canned tomato sauce. The flavor and consistency is just off but I can't really determine exactly what needs to be done to fix it. I used about 18 roma type tomatoes from my garden, used dry oregano and 1/2 cup of fresh chopped basil. We don't like a hot pasta sauce so I omitted the cayenne altogether and used fresh ground pepper for the flavor. In addition I added about 1/4 cup dry sherry, 2 cans of chopped portobello mushrooms, extra garlic, and 2 bay leaves. I pureed the sauce in my blender because my kids prefer a smooth sauce. The 2nd time I made it I even added in a can of tomato paste and a can of tomato sauce, hoping to richen and improve the flavor but it didn't help much. Just as a footnote this this, a trick I learned a while ago is that if the sauce tastes too acidic add 1 or 2 Tbsp. butter, mix it in and taste. Add more if needed. It should balance out the acidity. Sugar also helps reduce acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Excellent. The flavor of this sauce is very good. The only thing I will do the next time, though, is to reduce the pepper. I like spicy recipes, but my husband does not. So I need to make it a little less spicy. I made ravioli and used this for the sauce. Very tasty and fairly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monessen, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
I used this as starter to make tomato based pasta sauce & I was intrigued. I had to modify it quite though. There was far too much cayenne pepper and I will reduce it drastically for next time. While I will rate the basic recipie as a 3 star here is what I added for my personal tase: Zucchini, extra garlic, and some tyme. I also added mushrooms, red & yellow peppers and I used fresh herbs for the seasonings. 3 hours prior to serving I added some browned & seasoned ground meat (this time I used buffalo but I typically go with lean beef).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I let this cook overnight about 12 hours in total and boy does this have a kick. I've frozen the rest so we can enjoy the rest later. Will make again without doubt. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This sauce would be much better without an entire teaspoon of cayenne pepper. Oh my gosh, it was SO spicy! My family could barely eat it. I'm giving it four stars, but I'm sure the next time I make it with MUCH less ground cayenne pepper, it'll be a five-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was so easy & tasty. My whole family loved it. I made the recipe with 40 roma tomatoes fresh from the garden, & used a banana pepper and 1 tsp. cayenne & it was still like an arabiatta sauce. (Added a bit of sugar too!)Everything else, as is! Excellent! We used it for pasta, then the next night for a spicy Chicken Parm. (I didn't seed the tomatoes & the sauce was great...like a fresh tomato sauce from Italy...not the thick Americanized ones.) I'll use up my tons of tomatoes on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
My stepmom's parents have a huge farm and they gave us all these tomatoes so this was one of the recipes I tried first. It was excellent. The flavors are very good together and I like the small bite the cayenne gives it! I doubled this recipe because I was feeding a lot of people and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Perfect! Yummy. Cooked overnight and throughout the day for a cookout and everyone loved it! I used it for a dip for calzones and it was great! I would double the recipe though because it only made a small amount. I added a can of tomato paste. It's very chunky, got a great tang to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States