Slow Cooker Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I think this is a good recipe; however, I think it does need to be cooked for 15 hours if cooking on a low setting in a crock pot in order to get a nice sauce. Otherwise, it looks more like salsa (too chunky). I diced my tomatoes instead of crushing them, and this allowed for some nice small chunks after they cooked. This is a nice chunky sauce, by the liquid part was a bit thin, so I added a can of tomato paste to bolster the consistency. I also added a pound of ground beef to make it a little heartier and more savory. Nice seasoning suggestions in this recipe, and the flavor and texture really does come out the longer it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I just really thought this recipe was missing something in the flavor department. Really had to doctor it up quite a bit. The consistensy was also not quite what i was expecting so I added some cornstartch mixed with water to thicken it up a little. I think this sauce would be best used for a chicken parmesan dish rather than over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Great flavors but I thought it was a little thin. I added a can of tomato sauce to try and thicken it up. It also didn't have the color I was looking for in a tomato sauce. But the taste was nice and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmiliaAerynRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I put it in the slow cooker for 10 hours and it cooked down to make about 2 servings rather than the 6 it was suppose to make. The taste was a big disappointment as well. It tasted nothing like I thought tomato sauce should taste like. It was like a strange stewed tomato concoction instead. I only put in half the cayenne pepper it called for and it will still be too spicy for my kids. A big flop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I cut the tomatoes the night before and threw everything in the crock pot the next morning before leaving for work. It cooked for about 13 hours. I was worried about letting it cook for so long because a) my crock pot seemed too big and b) there wasn't a lot of liquid in the pot. My concerns were unwarranted, it was delicious! It had quite a kick from the pepper, but the cinnamon was a great balance. I served it over whole-wheat gnocchi and it was a hit! My husband even stole a bite from my plate when his was gone! This is definitely going to be a staple around our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Enjoyed the different taste of this recipe. My changes - omitted the cayenne pepper and would cook less than 10 hrs. At 10 hrs, the crock pot was creating an overcooked ring around the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
My family loved it! I used whatever homegrown tomatoes I had in the house that a friend gave me. I didn't not use cayenne pepper, I'm not a spicy tomato sauce fan. (I'll try it next time though.) The sauce came out a golden orange in color and was quite thin. (I used the sauce a few days after I made it) I simmered it for a time with two added cans of paste. This helped the color and the texture just enough. I served it in a baked pasta dish and had leftover on the side for those in the family that like extra sauce. It was a hit! I can't wait to make up a few batches to freeze for the wintertime. Thanks! -CJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThompsonFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Help...great great sauce but it was tooooo spicy...can someone tell me something to add to tone it down a bit..please..I want to keep it and use it but I need to make some sort of an adjustment...asap...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greencastle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
So easy and so good! I added capers and sliced green olives for extra depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I've made something like this to preserve excess fresh tomatoes from the garden -- except I don't peel or seed the tomatoes, instead running it through a hand cranked food mill at the end to remove skins and and residual seeds. Just freeze and you'll have enough tomato sauce base to last all winter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States