Slow Cooker Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Cut the Cayenne in half, add one more tomato and a pinch of sugar and it is tuned perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
The cayenne pepper in this recipe was too much. Very spicy. I followed the recipe exactly. If you make this..do not add the cayenne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Lynn Hull

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I'm giving it 4 stars because I had to add some additional spices to get the flavor we like. I added some red pepper flakes, sugar, garlic powder, and onion powder. This sauce is quite authentic and not like jarred/canned sauces. So, if that's what you are looking for, you won't get it with this one. This recipe couldn't be easier, and it allows you to customize it to your own taste. What a great way to use up all of the bounty of tomatoes from the garden and have something wonderfully fresh at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I made this sauce yesterday and cooked it all night....It is thick but I'm with the others in that the cayenne needs to be removed. However, I see the possibilities with this sauce and will freeze for later use and will add as the dish dictates. I love using my crock pot for items like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Needs more onion and much more garlic along with celery and tomato paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malcolm Reding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I suggest that those people who find the cayenne pepper too spicy that they use red chili pepper flakes. I just find that chili flakes works and has a much better taste in Italian recipes. Can't wait to actually try this recipe, hence the three-star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This is pretty good if you like a spicier sauce, and of course if you don't...adjust it. No big deal. The reason I gave it only 3 stars was that it invests an awful lot of cooking time and electicity for what is a little better than average sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This sauce is fantastic! I've made it twice and can't wait until I have enough tomatoes to make it again. I used a combination of types, just whichever I had too many of. I did not add any cayenne because it would have been too spicy for me, so I used a couple of shakes of red pepper flakes. Yes, it is somewhat thin and chunky. I lived in Italy for a couple of years and that's how true Italian sauce is! This is the closest thing I've had to the real thing since leaving there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Good and spicy. Thanks for Sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I think this is a good recipe; however, I think it does need to be cooked for 15 hours if cooking on a low setting in a crock pot in order to get a nice sauce. Otherwise, it looks more like salsa (too chunky). I diced my tomatoes instead of crushing them, and this allowed for some nice small chunks after they cooked. This is a nice chunky sauce, by the liquid part was a bit thin, so I added a can of tomato paste to bolster the consistency. I also added a pound of ground beef to make it a little heartier and more savory. Nice seasoning suggestions in this recipe, and the flavor and texture really does come out the longer it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States