Slow Cooker Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I reduced the amount of cayenne. Cooking time was less and I also put it in my vitamix to make it smooth like tomato sauce. It was so very good. Need to get lots of tomato's so I can make it in my big crock pot and freeze some. Was so yummy over wheat angel hair pasta with lightly grated fresh parm. Thanks for the Recipe as I refuse to eat anything from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is now my go-to recipe. It's easier and easier each time. Tomatoes from the farmers market have 3 times now been made into this recipe with different spices each time, but this metod for all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsparksmsp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
The teaspoon of cayenne pepper was WAY too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This was a simple and tasty recipe! Easy and no need for a lot of ingredients. I used it to help me handle the surplus of romas from my garden. There was no need for the cayenne spice, though. The kids were anxiously waiting to try it because it smelled so good, but the spice was too much for them. The cinnamon was the secret to just the right amount of sweetness. Will become a regular dish in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This sauce is good, but wasn’t quite what I was looking for. I had Roma tomatoes that needed used up when I came across this recipe. To make this as written, you need to like some heat with your food. We do, so the cayenne wasn’t too much for my DH and I; but would have been too hot for my extended family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I'm not much of a cook, but this recipe was easy and SO delicious. I didn't have roma tomatoes but used what I had and other than that stuck to the recipe. I wouldn't change anything else. Will definately make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Cut the Cayenne in half, add one more tomato and a pinch of sugar and it is tuned perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
The cayenne pepper in this recipe was too much. Very spicy. I followed the recipe exactly. If you make this..do not add the cayenne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I'm giving it 4 stars because I had to add some additional spices to get the flavor we like. I added some red pepper flakes, sugar, garlic powder, and onion powder. This sauce is quite authentic and not like jarred/canned sauces. So, if that's what you are looking for, you won't get it with this one. This recipe couldn't be easier, and it allows you to customize it to your own taste. What a great way to use up all of the bounty of tomatoes from the garden and have something wonderfully fresh at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I made this sauce yesterday and cooked it all night....It is thick but I'm with the others in that the cayenne needs to be removed. However, I see the possibilities with this sauce and will freeze for later use and will add as the dish dictates. I love using my crock pot for items like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States