Slow Cooker Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I made this last night for my family. We loved it! My 4 year old said it was the best ever and had seconds. I did add tomato soup to it so it didn't dry out. Also since I work all day I couldn't add the peas. I just served it with veggies and mashed potatoes on the side. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I thought it was good. I cooked it on high for 3-4 hours. depends how many you put in the slow cooker.If it was dry just cook it less time. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rupert, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
i really liked this! I liked that it is pretty healthy, and doesn't use canned creamed soup. (i use enough of that!) I did add a can of tomato soup, to make more sauce (there's no MSG in tomato soup, yay!) and i used a little less than 2 tbsp of the soy sauce. I was hesitant to try this b/c of the soy sauce (i'm just not a fan!), but my husband loves soy sauce, so I gave it a try and wow i really loved it! So fast and so easy. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is not bad. The chicken was somewhat dry and falling apart, but I think it's bc I cooked it too long--I wasn't able to turn it off when I meant to. I added tomato soup to the crock pot in addition to the other ingredients and so there was plenty of liquid. I think that it just needs the peas added a bit earlier and turned off within 7 or 8 hours and it'll be fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
We thought this was pretty tasty. I did what another user suggested and added a can of tomato soup (only b/c I had one in the pantry and we like alot of sauce). We served this with pasta and the hubby and kids all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This recipe is a great one if you use bone in chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts. I have a 6 quart slow cooker and I used 12 chicken thighs and quadrupled the sauce to go over them. Even after 12 hours on low, the thighs were melt-in-your-mouth moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was delicious! We are learning to eat better so I am learning a new way to cook. I did add the can of tomatoe soup as suggested by others and only had regular diced tomatoes to I had to add my own basil (guessed at the amount). When it was done we put it atop a bed of rice. My fiancee who is 10x the cook I am even raved! We will definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Good base recipe. Because of the prior comments regarding dry chicken, I added a cup of chicken broth and cooked on low for 5 hours. I also added a sprinkle of salt, pepper and garlic powder to each piece of chicken. I didn't have peas on hand but we love spinach so I added a bag of fresh spinach during the last half hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I did what a lot of others did and used this recipe as a jumping off point. I put FROZEN chicken into the crockpot to keep it from over cooking. I did scatter a few dashes of salt, pepper, and garlic powder over the chicken before pouring the soup mixture over it. I did add a can of Campbell's Tomato Soup, as well as some extra garlic. Cooked 7 hours, shredded chicken, and served over pasta. (left the peas out). We LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I am so happy to have found this recipe because it is a good base to be creative and use up the remaining cans of tomatoes I had in the pantry. I used 5 chicken breasts, 3 cloves of garlic, 2 T soy sauce, 2-14oz cans of Stewed Tomatoes with Basil and Oregano, 1-14oz can of tomato sauce and 1-14 oz can of chicken broth. Placed frozen chicken breasts in the pot and poured all the other ingredients on top of it. Let it cook for 9 hours. On the 10th hour I added frozen peas and carrots. This version will be a little brothier (just how I like it) so reduce the chicken broth if you are using frozen chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States