Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Made this for my new slow cooker's debut at family Mother's Day dinner. Made just as written, but doubled the sauce and used a 6.5 # turkey breast. Used turkey bacon and 98% fat free turkey gravy to cut down on the calories and fat. Everyone loved it, and it was so easy I can have turkey often! Thanks, Eating Indy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This was neat way to do turkey. I used about a 7 lb. breast and cooked on low for 6.5 hrs. It was a little dry even though I did add a can of chicken broth. The only thing that I didn't count on was I couldn't get the breast out of the pot in one piece. It just fell apart, although not necessarily a bad thing. I also just added salt and pepper. I didn't try making gravy because I had a hard time getting it out but I will try it next time. All in all it was tasty and will make it this way again but I will try cutting the cooking time a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNMMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Beach Haven, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was the easiest way to do a turkey honestly. I had a 3 pound boneless turkey breast completely frozen and put it in the crock pot with all the ingredients (used turkey gravy mix instead of gravy in a jar). My turkey breast was done in 8 hours on low and so tender and juicy. Thanks for the tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I have to admit, I was very skeptical about making turkey in the slow cooker that would even remind me of Thanksgiving...but it really did! I did use thighs instead of the breast just for preference only and although I wouldn't eat it for Thanksgiving because I just love a turkey roasting in the oven, I will eat it any other time of the year. This came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I made this with a skinless boneless turkey breast for Easter.. Turned out fantastic!! very moist and delicious! and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very mosit and tasty. Will be cooking again.Left out Worcestershire and added a little liquid smoke. Used Johnny's Grub Rub from this site instead of garlic and and laid a couple of bacon strips over the breast to help keep it moist. Cooking time is more like 5-6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was delicious! I was VERY nervous about trying this recipe. I hate wasting turkey on lousy recipes where it turns out dry :( I didn't have sage so I used poultry seasoning...I used two smaller turkey breasts since that was all that I had. Everyone loved it...EVEN my two children ages 9 & 11 who complained when I said we were having turkey they wanted pancakes. They thought it was great and even had second & third helpings. I will do this one FOR SURE...great for a working mom who wants to put on the table a great healthy dinner at the end of a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
LOVED this! BF raved about it and asked for seconds. My first time cooking turkey and I am happy about its success. Like others I tweaked it a bit for my tastes. No bacon. No sage. Rubbed EVOO and minced garlic all over the 3.5 lb boneless butterball turkey, added the gravy that came with the turkey, flour, worchestershire sauce, garlic pepper, and some onion. Cooked on high for 2.5hrs and on low for another 1.5 hour or so. Smelled amazing and came out tender, juicy, and DELICIOUS! It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is REALLY good and tasty, and very easy to prepare. I always have bacon grease on hand from when I fry bacon, then can use the grease with some of the Hormel cooked bacon bits instead of frying up bacon for every recipe. A real time-saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was just okay. I think we simply like dark meat better than white. No matter what you do to white turkey/breast meat, it just tastes dry. The gravy and flavoring was good, but even after several hours on low in the crock pot, the meat was still dry. I think I'd try again but with dark meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States