Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I was amazed at how tender and juicy the turkey breast came out. I used two packets of Knorr's Turkey Gravey. I sliced a medium onions and place that on the bottom of the crock pot with 3 celery stalks and one large carrot sliced. Placed turkey breast on top and cooked. I seasoned by turkey with thyme, salt, pepper and parsley. Yum, yum! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Great recipe! will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
We were looking forward to this and had high hopes, but my turkey came out kind of stringy and dry and hard to choke down, in spite of being kind of "wet" from the gravy and juices. We didn't like it at all. Maybe the 8 hours was too long? I'm not sure why it was so bad. I tend to think with so many good reviews, maybe I did something wrong. Maybe I added too much gravy based on the size of the breast? I won't do another turkey in a crockpot. If it were a pot roast, it would be nice and tender and falling apart, but that wasn't really how I wanted my turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kourte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is fool-proof. We served it with a roasted turkey from Whole Foods and everyone agreed that the slow-cooked turkey was superior in taste and texture. It was also much easier to manage the rest of the cooking with the turkey not occupying the oven. The only problem is that it is a little harder to carve since the meat is so tender, it kind of just crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I guess I just don't get the reason for the bacon. I strained the bacon out as I didn't think it was that appealing with the pan juices but did thicken the juices for gravy. Turkey was moist and flavorful. I grated fresh garlic (as I didn't have the garlic pepper) and added black pepper with it. Would make this again as I have yet to find another recipe to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This turkey was so tender and juicy! My father had even said he had never had turkey that juicy and flavorful! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Leave skin on, don't cook for 8 hours, try 6. Nice flavor and it makes good gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I just made this recipe today as we were getting together for a early Easter celebration ( could not all get together at the same time1!) It turned out great!!! So well, that there is just enough for my hubby to have a meal tommorrow night. Everyone wanted to take some home with them. The only variation I made was to add a can of cream of chicken soup, apple slices and butter. I also did not use bacon, as I did not want this flavor to overpower. Also left out the worcestershire sauce and added an onion. Guess I changed it a tad;-) I got up late, so I cooked mine on high for 5 hours breast side down. It was about a 6 lb skin on breast. After it was done, I placed it on a platter and covered with foil. My hubby sliced it, and everyone said it was the best turkey they have EVER had. No more whole bird for use again. I will ALWAYS purchase the breast and cook in crock pot.....holidays included. No waste and melt in your mouth meal. Needless to say, I was the mom with the mostest today;-)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Perfect for two. Would feed 3-4 easy, but don't expect any left overs. My boyfriend and I work graveyards, so we came home from work, I threw this together, I added a couple whole bacon strips across the top of the turkey, then let the slow cooker do its thing while we slept. We woke up mouths watering. I have to mention I like this recipe because I don't cook but this was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Steib

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We were amazed at how tender the turkey turned out but it was a little too salty. I would recommend a low sodium gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States