Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This was the answer to my Thanksgiving prayers. My family only likes the breast of the turkey. I was afraid that just baking it in the oven would dry it out. This was a great alternative. It came out moist and tender, just delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This recipe is great and very easy to make even for people that are challanged in the kitchen. I do have a question, what do you do with the package of gravy that comes with the Turkey Breast? Can something be done with it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Made this ahead of time, and took camping...turned out great! Did not alter it....but did cook it less (7ish hours), after checking it with themometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This came out quite nicely. I omitted the bacon, but the meat came out flavorful and moist. It was great to be able to free up my oven for other Thanksgiving dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I had to stay up at university this year with my boyfriend, so it was up to us to make a turkey. Neither of us had ever attempted a full Thanksgiving turkey before, but it turned out great! I used an 8.5 lb bird instead of the breast suggested in this recipe and cooked it a little longer, and I also added a can of stock just to make sure there was enough moisture. I also stuffed the bird with apples, oranges, carrots, and onions, and some herbs from the garden. This turned out wonderfully! The meat was literally falling off the bone, and everything was so tasty! I think next time I'll toss in some fresh vegetables for the heck of it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
did not use the bacon but my 16 year old son said it was the best turkey he has ever had and if you can get a comment out of a teenager it must have been good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
We made this in addition to the big turkey and I must say it just didn't compare. I did brine my whole turkey though and it was exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
After putting two, almost nearly frozen 3lb. turkey breast roasts...boneless...in my crockpot to cook all night, I had to jump on here this morning to rave about the result. This recipe is fantastic! We won't be eating the turkey until much later this afternoon, but I have to admit that I did sneak a few tastes as I sliced it up. Here's how I prepared mine. I put the two roasts in a large crockpot, opened up both gravy packets and dumped that over the roasts, then added one chopped vidalia onion and one bunch of chopped celery hearts...leaves and all...and a bay leaf. Then I sprinkled the tops of the roasts with crushed dried sage, thyme, salt, and cracked black pepper. I set this to cook on low...thought the roasts might take all night and most of today because they were almost completely frozen...I started this at 9:30 last night and by 7:30 this morning they were tender, very moist, and exceptionally savory. I did get up to baste the tops once during the night, but I don't think it was really necessary. This is the only way that I will ever prepare turkey from now on. This is a must-try recipe; it is OUTSTANDING!! Thank you so much for sharing this...can't wait for dinner later today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
529 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I used home made frozen turkey gravy I had in my freezer as well as frozen turkey stock to make sure it was moist and gave us lots of gravy. It was very good, but I will leave out the bacon next time, it was a kind of wierd flavour in the finished gravy. But the turkey was moist and delicious. A 4 lb breast gave us a lovely meal with enough left over for a casserole or sandwiches tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was excellent. Now I can have Thanksgiving any day of the year...Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States