Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I tried this recipe with split chicken breasts. I also used chicken gravy instead. Heaven!! Can't wait to try with turkey as I originally planned... turkey is hard to find in Sept unless its ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie Singleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made exactly as stated, and it came out fine, flavored nicely. In my crock pot, I should have taken it out at 6 hours, but it was still good. There wasn't enough gravy for us, so I had to use another jar to serve over the turkey. I will probably add some onion and celery next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
We love turkey and have it 3 or 4 times during the cold months, I taper off from June to November so we appreciate it again at Thanksgiving. I will fix this again BUT never at Thanksgiving because this is a time for a truly traditional roasted turkey with crispy skin and with all the trimmings. I can understand why this dish is so popular with younger women who work. The taste was wonderful. I used it as I would left overs when I do my traditional version......it's rather a "gloppy mess" but since it tasted so good it's also good for "leftover" dishes. I prepared this following the recipe as described but (sorry) I did omit the bacon, I only like that in a tomato, turkey and bacon sandwich. :-) I gave it a good rating because I didn't want my personal preferences to drag down the rating just because I wanted to express my opinion of it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I have made this twice so far and each time is more delicious than the last! I bought a turkey yesterday with this in mind (craving it!). I added some chicken brother to the crock pot at the start and again halfway through to make sure it stays moist. I also leave the skin on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Loved it - needed to dial back cooking time and add a bit of turkey/chicken stock so that it doesn't get too dry - but results in fantastic turkey and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Awesome, Awesome, Awesome. Could easily be made for Thanksgiving dinner. I couldn't find a 5 1/2pd turkey so I used 7 and cooked it 9 hours. Could've probably went 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Wow! This was so good. As with others, I also adapted my own recipe. I chopped up onion and 2 ribs of celery and cooked it in butter in a skillet until aromatic. Then I added the onion and celery to crock pot with 3 cups of chicken stock, a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, bunch of fresh thyme . I put the breast skin side up, sprinkled with season salt (I use "Crazy Salt") and finally I lay 5 pieces of bacon on top. (Skin and bacon got discarded when turkey was cooked through. It took about 6 hours on high (approx. 8 lb breast). It makes the turkey very flavorful and the juice it cooks in makes really delicious gravy. For the gravy, I took 1/2 cup of butter in skillet over medium heat and slowly added 1/2 cup of flour and seasoned with cracked pepper. To that I added 4 cups of the reserved cooking juice and whisked ountil thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this with a fully cooked turkey breast and it turned out awesome! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have made this recipe every year for several years now and have LOVED it more than any other turkey! Very moist! I have never made it quite the same as this recipe though. I don't like bacon so have never included that. I usually use the included turkey gravy packet that comes with the turkey breast instead of a can of turkey gravy. I have never skinned the turkey breast, but just usually rub a good amount of the seasonings under the skin. It might be a bit dryer if you skinned the turkey, but I might try it this year as it would be a bit healthier that way. The sage and Worcestershire sauce do make an excellent flavor! When it was time for making gravy, I use the drippings out of the crockpot and it makes for an excellent flavorful gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Quick, easy and oh so good! My family says they prefer this over the oven roasted turkey. So it leaves alot more oven space for other goodies. I followed the other suggestions of adding a little extra turkey broth half way thru cooking time. I dont think I'll be making another turkey breast in the oven again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States