Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this in a roaster on 250F with a whole turkey! It was great! The turkey disappeared. I did add some broth and a jar if gravy as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving and it came out very dry & bland. I would not make this again or recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Had a whole half carcase (double breast with back attached) after severing off the legs and arms. I added SALT as there is non listed in this recipe, thickened the gravy at the end but left all else the same - Excellent, thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I love this recipe! Though I made minor changes (no sage, garlic powder and regular pepper instead of garlic pepper, and chicken instead of turkey gravy), this turned out fabulous! The meat was tender and fell right off the bone. It was not dry at all! This is a perfect and foolproof turkey for a couple or small group. I'm so glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have used this recipe for the past three Thanksgivings, this year will be year 4. It's excellent!! My family loves it, and it doesn't get any easier than this. My hubby smokes the dark meat and I use this recipe for the breasts. I prepare the bacon the day before and I triple the gravy ingredients. My cook time is usually less than stated. I have to use two crocks because I am usually using the breasts of a 24 lb. turkey to feed our large group. This has become a tradition in our house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrashGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is the BEST turkey ever. For the past four years my family and friends enjoy a fabulous dish. The only tip I have is to put the slices of bacon uncooked on top of the breast. Trust me you won't regret it! The drippings from the bacon tenderize the meat with a wonderful flavor. I hope you all enjoy it as much as we do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Excellent, easy way to cook a turkey breast. This was my 1st time cooking one and was so simple. I added some chicken broth to keep it moist and I cut back on cooking time about an hour. The meat fell off the bone and had great flavor. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I tried this recipe with split chicken breasts. I also used chicken gravy instead. Heaven!! Can't wait to try with turkey as I originally planned... turkey is hard to find in Sept unless its ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie Singleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made exactly as stated, and it came out fine, flavored nicely. In my crock pot, I should have taken it out at 6 hours, but it was still good. There wasn't enough gravy for us, so I had to use another jar to serve over the turkey. I will probably add some onion and celery next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
We love turkey and have it 3 or 4 times during the cold months, I taper off from June to November so we appreciate it again at Thanksgiving. I will fix this again BUT never at Thanksgiving because this is a time for a truly traditional roasted turkey with crispy skin and with all the trimmings. I can understand why this dish is so popular with younger women who work. The taste was wonderful. I used it as I would left overs when I do my traditional version......it's rather a "gloppy mess" but since it tasted so good it's also good for "leftover" dishes. I prepared this following the recipe as described but (sorry) I did omit the bacon, I only like that in a tomato, turkey and bacon sandwich. :-) I gave it a good rating because I didn't want my personal preferences to drag down the rating just because I wanted to express my opinion of it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States