Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
What do you do with the bacon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
To answer the question below; the crumbled bacon is mixed with the gravy, flour, worcestershire and sage before pouring over the turkey breast. I cooked two breasts; one roasted and the other using this recipe. This one came out much juicier, and the flavor is fantastic (you can play with the spices to suit your own tastes). A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHBUM72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hewlett Harbor, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This recipe is fantastic. Not only did the turkey turn out moist and delicious, it allowed me to cook side items in the oven. So easy. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Slow Cookin' Dave
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Great recipe. Had it today for Christmas Dinner along with ham. Most all made positive comments on how good it was. I will make this again. Didn't know which way to lay the breast in the cooker so I laid it on the side. Might put the bone side up next time to keep the breast meat in the juice. See the pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This turned out really GREAT! I used a butterball boneless turkey breast and it even came with a gravy packet that I used for the sauce. The flavor was really wonderful. The bacon crumbles made a difference - adding a really nice flavor to the gravy. I did strain the gravy off and use on potatoes and the turkey. My husband and all three children cleaned their plates! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
This is wonderful. My husband thought it would fall off the bone. But it didn't. It stayed whole and was very easy to slice. Made great gravy too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I only added half the amount of Worchestershire sauce, and I still thought the taste was a bit strong. The breast I used was finished cooking after 4 hours on low, so I put the crockpot on warm for a couple of hours until we were ready to eat. The meat was a bit dry. It probably would have been perfect after 4 hours. I may try again using less WS and cutting down the cooking time a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNSTODD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Excellent! I forgot to remove the skin but followed the recipe exactly otherwise and my husband said it is the best turkey he has ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
I love using my crockpot, but this recipe did not work out for me at all. I only used a 2.5 lb. turkey and maybe I cooked it too long, but the meat surface was dry and crusty. There was hardly any gravy and it was very thin. We salvaged the turkey for a casserole, but I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Great recipe! Using only 4 pieces of bacon it left a very strong taste in the gravy. I will use only 3 pieces next time. Also, my turkey was done in only 6 hours on low. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States