Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Delicious! Used Applewood Farms turkey bacon [no nitrates] and Heinz Fat Free turkey gravy [no MSG]. I also used a three pound turkey london broil and slow cooked on low for 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I've made a similar recipe for years in my crockpot whenever my family needs a turkey "fix", and the meat is always tender and moist. I always add onion and celery, along with a can of chicken broth to the crockpot to impart stuffing-like flavor to both the turkey and gravy--just thicken before serving. Don't know what bacon is doing in this dish, though, so that's why I only rated 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suze Knisley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This is a wonderful, easy, recipe. The next time I will leave out the bacon. I added one stalk of sliced celery and a small chopped onion. Everyone loved it, the turkey fell off the bone and the gravy was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This is such a simple meal. And you can personalize it by adding veggies. Try it, you'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Since it's only my husband and me at home, a turkey breast is a good alternative to a whole turkey. However, traditional cooking methods can result in the meat being dry. The beauty of doing the breast in a slow cooker is that it comes out moist, and I'm always looking for different slow cooker recipes. This one was great! I used bacon bits instead of the actual bacon and a cup of gravy prepared from a packaged mix instead of the canned gravy. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Pretty good but a bit bland. Next time I would add onions and celery, poultry seasoning and a good jar or can of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
D-Licious! This was sooooo scrumptious and good for you, I have made it a weekly dinner! LOVE IT! The perfect turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I had this for Thanksgiving, since my Brother N Law wasn't there to deep fry; it was VERY WELL RECEIVED! I am not a Turkey eater, but even I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This is a great recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Chicken Pox cancelled our BIG Christmas dinner this year. This recipe still made it just like our big Christmas meal with none of the work !! Thanks for posting ! We are all white meat eaters and this was the answer. I am a big crock pot fan (usually roasts) and am thrilled to find something else we all love. I put in 2 cans of gravy as my hubby is a gravy head and the gravy turned out awesome after we thickened it up a bit with a roux.. 1st time we have succeeded with a good gravy. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States