Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I loved this recipe and will absolutely use it again! I did a few things differently, however. I soaked it in a brine overnight (2 cups salt, 1 cup sugar, water, rosemary, thyme, pepper). The next day I put it in the crock pot as directed. I didn't use the bacon, but used fresh herbs instead. I also used fresh garlic and pepper as a rub. It was awesome! I think I'll use this for Thanksgiving next year. My turkey was so moist and delicious! YUMMY! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I like the concept of making a turkey breast in a slow cooker, so I gave it a try. I cooked it on high for 4 hours and when I checked the internal temperature, it was done. I held it on warm for an hour and it was still very moist. Next time I will cook it at the lower setting and check it after 4 hours. I did not have turkey gravy, so substituted a 1/2 cup of stock. When the turkey was done, the slow cooker yielded about 4 cups of liquid. Plenty of juice for gravy. I did use the bacon; in the end did not affect the flavor of the turkey much, but made the gravy liquid a bit too smoky and overwhelmed the turkey flavor. I will not use the bacon again. All in all, this is a good basic recipe. I'd definitely experiment with more fresh herbs and spices next time, while omitting the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Not bad if you are just looking to set and forget. I would have liked the gravy/juice to be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I absolutely fell in love with this recipe, as did my fiance! I have made it a few times now. I add some of the grease from the bacon into the sauce, as well as additional spices - poultry seasoning, margarom, thyme, salt, pepper & garlic. I've never had turkey so juicy! You must try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Awesome turkey. So easy to throw in the crock pot the night before and have a mock thanksgiving dinner ready when you get home. My husband threw in a can of turkey broth when I wasnt there and it actually made the turkey lose some of its moisture (I've noticed the slow cooker with chicken and to much liquid does that too) Next time I will be sure to do it when he's no where around. The meat was fall off the bone tender and I wont hesitate to use this recipe again. My boys just gobbled it up, no pun intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Unbelievavble recipe. I recomend extra sage, garlic and pepper, but it was unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Wow! This turkey is great! I was looking for a slow cooked turkey recipe and this is good. I will def make this more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carebear05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
An excellent way to fix the Thanksgiving Turkey the EASY way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Made this last night. It was very easy to make and delicious! I substituted skim milk for whole milk to cut down on some of the fat, and no one was the wiser. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This may be one of the best recipes to date! I made it pretty much to speck with the exception of exact measurements - I'm a "little bit of this and a little bit of that" kind of girl. =-) Next time I think I'll throw in an apple and a sweet onion, just to add in some sweetness - but that's just how our family likes it - honestly - this recipe is perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colorado Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States