Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
The bacon really adds flavor. Turkey can be bland and dry but this recipe really peps it up. I strained out the bacon and thickened the drippings with cornstarch for an ultra rich gravy. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Byrd Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was absolutely amazing - I took the suggestion of one of the reviewer's and layered the bacon over the turkey breast instead of frying it up, crumbling it and adding it to the other ingredients. I have passed this recipe along to everybody I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metalmaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This is very tasty turkey, BUT...I will never cook it in the Crock Pot again!! I'm sorry, I just have to have a golden brown bird. I will peel back the skin and sprinkle the recipe ingredients on top along with minced onion and garlic, which I also added to this recipe. Then I'll pull the skin back over the flesh and bake. The only thing the crock pot really saves, I think, is energy. It's just as easy to throw the breast on a baking stone and throw it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
this is so great! no mess,and no fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Flavour was good, but very dry, even with the bacon...a good gravy with the drippings goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Didn't use any turkey gravy or the bacon because I didn't have any on hand. Also, used 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour, 1/2 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce, and 1/4 teaspoon dried sage becase my husband isn't a big fan of sage. Added some carrots so I could squeeze in some veggies with the meal (which I do not suggest because the carrots lost their flavor. I know, DUH! YOU THINK???) Also, I had to use aluminum foil and a towel to cover the crockpot because my turkey breast was too big and cooked for 10 hours because the turkey was in the deep freezer. Still waiting for it to cook so I'll leave a better feedback later. ***UPDATE*** Husband came home for lunch. He finally got the turkey to squish down enough to cover with the lid. By the time I came home at 5:00 PM, the turkey was done so I put it on the WARM setting. Great taste and texture. I finally made a gravy with the drippings by mixing some garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, parsley, and enough cornstarch to thicken up a bit (I was tired so I did it the easy way). Served with "Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing" and " Best Green Bean Casserole" using " Cream of Mushroom Soup I" instead of the canned stuff for the green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I made this slow cooker turkey recipe today...it was FABULOUS tastewise and so easy to make...my turkey breast came out juicy and tender with plenty of gravy at the bottom of the cooker...I will NEVER make turkey in an oven again..THIS is the recipe I WILL USE FFROM NOW ON...the taste is so AWESOME, fork tender and juicy (as I previously indicated)...THANKS so much for sharing this recipe...it is most definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Easy and yummy, can't beat that! The meat literally fell off the bone as I transfered the turkey to a serving platter. The sandwiches where even better the next day. Thanks Eating Indy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This is one of my family's favorite meals, and so easy! We make a yummy gravy out of the crockpot liquid and serve it over mashed potatoes, with a veggie and green salad. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danagirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Easy and great!! It was delicious just as directed. This is our new favorite way to eat turkey breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States