Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and found my turkey breast to be dry and salty. And I basted the crud out of that sucker! Could have been the gravy I used, but I've never had issues with that particular gravy before. If I were to make this again, I'd like to figure out a way to make this a little less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I really wanted to try this recipe but when I went to the market I found that the turkey breasts were a little out of my budget. I had three whole chickens at home all ready so I just picked up the spices and a can of chicken gravy. other than that I followed the recipe to the "T" and it was wonderful. I had so much left over because my family consists of two adults and two small children. So I added 1 cup of water and a chiken bullion to the "gravy" and two more tablespoons of flour and 1/2 cup of cold water. I finished pulling the chicken off of the bone added that and between 2-4 cups of cooked rice. I did this to freeze and use later as a chicken and rice dish. of course I tasted it before I froze it and from now on I will serve this as a chicken and rice dish. I also can't wait to try it with the turkey!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I used a turkey breast without the bone and it turned out very dry! Make sure you use a bone-in. I could tell there was potential though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This was a great recipe. This was my very first turkey and I made it for Easter. Everyone loved the flavors etc. I added lots of veggies and removed the skin. YUMMY!!! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This came out so good! Followed the directions exactly. The meat was falling off the bone! I did have to split the breast in half because it was to tall for my slow cooker. My husand requests it all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missnadia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was just wonderful, snd so easy! I left the skin on for added moistness, but took it off before slicing the turkey. I used a jar of gravy instead of canned, but it still didn't taste like homemade (hence 4 stars, not 5). But the turkey itself was so moist and tender! A 7-lb breast cooked to perfection in 5 hours. After slicing the meat, I returned it to the crock pot, where the gravy kept it warm and moist. Great with mashed potatoes and cranberry sauce, any time of year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I must admit that I myself did not make this but my mother did and it was absolutely delicious! It was so moist and juicy we will definitely be slow cooking our turkeys more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Pretty good...We did not care for the taste of the canned "fake" gravy & would maybe someday try it again using chicken or turkey broth & use the drippings to make a traditional gravy. The turkey texture was pretty good and it was a very easy meal. I found the recipe to be accurate for the timing of the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
8 hours was way too much for a turkey breast even with the skin on. I'm sure it would be fantastic after 4 hours in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Mreen Holmes
Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I admit I was more interested in the concept of cooking a turkey breast in the slow cooker rather than the recipe itself, so I cooked mine with some minor changes. The amount of Worcestershire seemed excessive so I just used a few shakes. Didn't use flour, the sage, or the can of turkey gravy. I seasoned the breast with garlic pepper and a little poultry seasoning and laid a couple of bacon strips over the breast to help keep it moist and to flavor the gravy (I've always done this with my tradionally roasted turkey). Knowing that a lot of juices would be produced, I just threw in a portion of the bag of turkey gravy that came in the package. I found the stated cooking time WAY too long--I would think 6 hours on Low should me more than adequate, and next time I would check it even sooner. The turkey at 6-1/2 hours was cooked to a higher temperature than I would have preferred, but was still surprisingly moist. After I pulled the breast out to rest, I thickened up the gravy with a little cornstarch on the stovetop. The turkey was succulent and moist and sliced beautifully, and the gravy was rich and flavorful. This method will definitely be making a comeback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
607 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States