Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
A little bland -- add more sage, and maybe some rosemary next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was pretty good. For some reason I didn't like the bacon taste with the turkey?! Anyway I may try this again with a few adjustments like no bacon and adding carrots, onion and celery to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Skipped the sage and it was great! It would be great to use the meat in a soup. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beginnerchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Made with 4 bone-in chicken breasts (I kept the skin on the chicken, and I browned it slightly in a frying pan for some color before putting it in the slow cooker). I used a dry packet mix of roasted chicken gravy (whisked with water according to packet directions). I omitted the bacon, and I used just a couple of dashes of Worcestershire & a light sprinkle of ground sage, garlic powder, & fresh ground black pepper. Cooked in slow cooker on low for 6 1/2 hours. After removing the cooked chicken, I made gravy by straining all liquid from the slow cooker into a saucepan. I then added a couple of spoonfuls of flour and whisked on the stove top until slightly thickened. The results were amazing! The chicken was very moist & tender. Just a note: I placed the chicken bone-side-down in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liammom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I omitted the bacon. I cooked for 6 hours on low. The flavor was decent, but it was dry. I should have read reviews about adding chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
It was okay. Didn't really have that Thanksgiving Turkey homemade taste. It kind of reminded me of Turkey you'd get from a cheap sandwich shop. Tender, yes, but flavor wise, I'd rather spend the time and do it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza7298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and found my turkey breast to be dry and salty. And I basted the crud out of that sucker! Could have been the gravy I used, but I've never had issues with that particular gravy before. If I were to make this again, I'd like to figure out a way to make this a little less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I really wanted to try this recipe but when I went to the market I found that the turkey breasts were a little out of my budget. I had three whole chickens at home all ready so I just picked up the spices and a can of chicken gravy. other than that I followed the recipe to the "T" and it was wonderful. I had so much left over because my family consists of two adults and two small children. So I added 1 cup of water and a chiken bullion to the "gravy" and two more tablespoons of flour and 1/2 cup of cold water. I finished pulling the chicken off of the bone added that and between 2-4 cups of cooked rice. I did this to freeze and use later as a chicken and rice dish. of course I tasted it before I froze it and from now on I will serve this as a chicken and rice dish. I also can't wait to try it with the turkey!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I used a turkey breast without the bone and it turned out very dry! Make sure you use a bone-in. I could tell there was potential though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States