Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Made it this year, my first ever Thanksgiving Turkey....and it wasa fantastic! The turkey was so moist and it made fantastic gravy. The only thing I changed was I used turkey bacon. It tasted great. It's going to be a staple in my home on thanksgiving:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Simply amazing! The turkey fell off the bone... I didn't have to carve one piece! It was juicy and full of flavor! I started it at 12am and it cooked until 11am. The turkey was too high to cover the crock pot so I put 5 sheets of aluminum foil over the top to keep in the juices... This is the best turkey recipe ever!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Juciest most flavorful turket ever! My mom raved about it- and she's cooked a lot of turkey in her day. I rubbed the skin of the breast down with olive oil then rubbed on the seasoning (sage- 2 tsp, thyme- 1 tsp, rosemary- 1 tsp, pepper- 1/2 tsp).I tucked chopped onion and celery under the breast, tied it like others had suggested. I put 5 slices of soft-cooked bacon on top of the breast. Used the whole packet of gravy include with the turkey, added a bay leaf and a couple of cups of chicken broth. I did all the prep the night before so all I had to do in the morning was plug in the slow cooker. Because the slow cooker had been in the fridge and was cold, I set it on high for 1 hour, then reduced it to medium for about 2 hours, then low for 7 hours. It was a 7.5 pound bone-in breast. Perfect- and it kept the oven available for other dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made this for my small family on Thanksgiving with a 3 lb. boneless breast. Only took 6 hours and could have been less. My boyfriend raved about it so much, he bought another breast that I am cooking today. Glancing at previous reviews, I omitted the Worch. and being a garlic freak, I really lathered on the garlic pepper and poultry seasoning. Threw in the packet of gravy included with the turkey; whipped up a packet of gravy I had on hand instead of canned; added a cup of chicken broth and turned breast over halfway through cooking. Prayed that all this would avoid a dry turkey. The result - a VERY moist and delicious turkey. BF raved about the extra kick it had. Is a keeper, especially for being soo easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Moist and yummy! I know this is a major change, but I used a can of condensed french onion soup instead of a can of gravy; I highly recommend this if you are looking for something a little different! The gravy I made with the resulting juices was soooo good. Excellent recipe that made our Turkey Day much easier! I had a half a bird instead of a breast, about 5 lbs, and I cooked it on high for an hour then turned it to low for about 4 hours, then held it on warm for another hour while I finished everything else up. Tasted great, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was "OK". I made an "after T-Day" dinner last night for my parents, my bf & myself. I wanted an EASY main dish (I didn't want to roast a whole turkey for just the 4 of us). While this is good, it is not how I prefer my turkey to be prepared. The meat was fall-off-the-bone tender (plus), but lacked in appearance (negative). I could have broiled for a few minutes to brown it.... I made several changes (improvements, no doubt). Here's what I did: a) followed reviewer, LEXIANDJACK's suggestions to use the turkey gravy packet incl. w/ the meat; seasoned w/ sage, thyme, cracked black pepper & salt (did not measure amts. - and rubbed EVOO all over first); and added a bay leaf, chopped celery (2-3 in. pcs.) & a sm. onion (quartered) to the sc. I never basted the turkey (didn't need to, left skin on...). Also tied my "roast" w/ kitchen twine so that it would not fall apart. I did add bacon & W sauce, but think it was a mistake to do so.... I ended up not using the gravy at all! The bacon was soggy (yuck!) & difficult to strain out. I just warmed up a jar of T gravy to serve alongside. Had I NOT added the bacon, it would have been easy to skim the fat, add flour & turn the sc to high to make gravy. Maybe covering the meat with a few strips of smoked bacon as suggested by naples34102 would be more practical (oh well, for next time I guess...). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is a keeper. I used the gravy packet that came with the turkey and used a jar of gravy. I didn't use the bacon. I turned the turkey half way through the cooking cycle. My turkey was moist and tender. I used Honeysuckle White.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was a very easy way to make delicious and moist turkey, which wasn't too heavily flavored - making it easy to use leftovers in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Dry. Kept on warm after cooked, don't do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Made this tonight with a few variations and it was delicious. I didnt use the bacon and used the gravy packet that came with 3 pound breast. Mixed the gravy with the other ingredients and poured over breast. Basted twice while it cooked. Cooked 6 hours on low and it was super moist and delicious. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Dodds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States