Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made this for my small family on Thanksgiving with a 3 lb. boneless breast. Only took 6 hours and could have been less. My boyfriend raved about it so much, he bought another breast that I am cooking today. Glancing at previous reviews, I omitted the Worch. and being a garlic freak, I really lathered on the garlic pepper and poultry seasoning. Threw in the packet of gravy included with the turkey; whipped up a packet of gravy I had on hand instead of canned; added a cup of chicken broth and turned breast over halfway through cooking. Prayed that all this would avoid a dry turkey. The result - a VERY moist and delicious turkey. BF raved about the extra kick it had. Is a keeper, especially for being soo easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Moist and yummy! I know this is a major change, but I used a can of condensed french onion soup instead of a can of gravy; I highly recommend this if you are looking for something a little different! The gravy I made with the resulting juices was soooo good. Excellent recipe that made our Turkey Day much easier! I had a half a bird instead of a breast, about 5 lbs, and I cooked it on high for an hour then turned it to low for about 4 hours, then held it on warm for another hour while I finished everything else up. Tasted great, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was "OK". I made an "after T-Day" dinner last night for my parents, my bf & myself. I wanted an EASY main dish (I didn't want to roast a whole turkey for just the 4 of us). While this is good, it is not how I prefer my turkey to be prepared. The meat was fall-off-the-bone tender (plus), but lacked in appearance (negative). I could have broiled for a few minutes to brown it.... I made several changes (improvements, no doubt). Here's what I did: a) followed reviewer, LEXIANDJACK's suggestions to use the turkey gravy packet incl. w/ the meat; seasoned w/ sage, thyme, cracked black pepper & salt (did not measure amts. - and rubbed EVOO all over first); and added a bay leaf, chopped celery (2-3 in. pcs.) & a sm. onion (quartered) to the sc. I never basted the turkey (didn't need to, left skin on...). Also tied my "roast" w/ kitchen twine so that it would not fall apart. I did add bacon & W sauce, but think it was a mistake to do so.... I ended up not using the gravy at all! The bacon was soggy (yuck!) & difficult to strain out. I just warmed up a jar of T gravy to serve alongside. Had I NOT added the bacon, it would have been easy to skim the fat, add flour & turn the sc to high to make gravy. Maybe covering the meat with a few strips of smoked bacon as suggested by naples34102 would be more practical (oh well, for next time I guess...). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is a keeper. I used the gravy packet that came with the turkey and used a jar of gravy. I didn't use the bacon. I turned the turkey half way through the cooking cycle. My turkey was moist and tender. I used Honeysuckle White.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was a very easy way to make delicious and moist turkey, which wasn't too heavily flavored - making it easy to use leftovers in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Dry. Kept on warm after cooked, don't do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Made this tonight with a few variations and it was delicious. I didnt use the bacon and used the gravy packet that came with 3 pound breast. Mixed the gravy with the other ingredients and poured over breast. Basted twice while it cooked. Cooked 6 hours on low and it was super moist and delicious. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Dodds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I followed the recipe as such but my turkey was very watery. I will not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I tried this turkey for the first time this past weekend, but after carefully reading the reviews, I altered this recipie slightly as well to suit my tastes. I had no garlic pepper, but instead added rosemary and thyme in equal parts to the sage. I used a jar of store bought gravy, but also thinned it out with some water and left over chicken broth. This left a TON of liquids for gravy afterwards, which is great, because my family puts gravy on everything on their turkey plates. Just a little roux in a pan and instant gravy goodness. I also sort of arranged the turkey breast on its side, so I flipped it about half way through to ensure both breasts cooked in liquid for a while. The result was fantastic. I had friends over and received nothing but rave reviews at the dinner table! I enjoyed the bacon and worcestershire sauce, it wasn't overwhelming at all since I thinned the liquids, but it did add a nice touch. I will definitely be using this recipie again as the winter months approach, such a fantastic cold night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate GR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I was so disappointed with this recipe. I was looking forward to coming home to a house smelling of turkey and having a delicious meal. I came home to a house smelling not much like turkey--more like bacon. I followed the recipe with minor changes: I did not use garlic pepper, but substituted garlic powder and I used a slightly smaller turkey breast, but added 2 turkey thighs with the skin removed. My turkey was very dry, despite having put a small bit of turkey skin on top, as one reviewer suggested. The turkey just didn't taste good to me at all. I'm not sure what I did wrong, although I've never used canned gravy before and I wasn't really impressed with it coming out of the can. My turkey had a bacon-y flavor even though I used only the 5 slices the recipe called for. My daughter and I wouldn't eat more than a few bites. My son ate a bit more, although he wasn't happy with it. The only saving grace is that my husband finished it off. He thought it was ok, but wasn't overly impressed, and although he ate it, agreed that this is one I shouldn't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States