Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This is very tasty turkey, BUT...I will never cook it in the Crock Pot again!! I'm sorry, I just have to have a golden brown bird. I will peel back the skin and sprinkle the recipe ingredients on top along with minced onion and garlic, which I also added to this recipe. Then I'll pull the skin back over the flesh and bake. The only thing the crock pot really saves, I think, is energy. It's just as easy to throw the breast on a baking stone and throw it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
this is so great! no mess,and no fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Flavour was good, but very dry, even with the bacon...a good gravy with the drippings goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Didn't use any turkey gravy or the bacon because I didn't have any on hand. Also, used 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour, 1/2 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce, and 1/4 teaspoon dried sage becase my husband isn't a big fan of sage. Added some carrots so I could squeeze in some veggies with the meal (which I do not suggest because the carrots lost their flavor. I know, DUH! YOU THINK???) Also, I had to use aluminum foil and a towel to cover the crockpot because my turkey breast was too big and cooked for 10 hours because the turkey was in the deep freezer. Still waiting for it to cook so I'll leave a better feedback later. ***UPDATE*** Husband came home for lunch. He finally got the turkey to squish down enough to cover with the lid. By the time I came home at 5:00 PM, the turkey was done so I put it on the WARM setting. Great taste and texture. I finally made a gravy with the drippings by mixing some garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, parsley, and enough cornstarch to thicken up a bit (I was tired so I did it the easy way). Served with "Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing" and " Best Green Bean Casserole" using " Cream of Mushroom Soup I" instead of the canned stuff for the green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I made this slow cooker turkey recipe today...it was FABULOUS tastewise and so easy to make...my turkey breast came out juicy and tender with plenty of gravy at the bottom of the cooker...I will NEVER make turkey in an oven again..THIS is the recipe I WILL USE FFROM NOW ON...the taste is so AWESOME, fork tender and juicy (as I previously indicated)...THANKS so much for sharing this recipe...it is most definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Easy and yummy, can't beat that! The meat literally fell off the bone as I transfered the turkey to a serving platter. The sandwiches where even better the next day. Thanks Eating Indy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This is one of my family's favorite meals, and so easy! We make a yummy gravy out of the crockpot liquid and serve it over mashed potatoes, with a veggie and green salad. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danagirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Easy and great!! It was delicious just as directed. This is our new favorite way to eat turkey breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I loved this recipe and will absolutely use it again! I did a few things differently, however. I soaked it in a brine overnight (2 cups salt, 1 cup sugar, water, rosemary, thyme, pepper). The next day I put it in the crock pot as directed. I didn't use the bacon, but used fresh herbs instead. I also used fresh garlic and pepper as a rub. It was awesome! I think I'll use this for Thanksgiving next year. My turkey was so moist and delicious! YUMMY! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I like the concept of making a turkey breast in a slow cooker, so I gave it a try. I cooked it on high for 4 hours and when I checked the internal temperature, it was done. I held it on warm for an hour and it was still very moist. Next time I will cook it at the lower setting and check it after 4 hours. I did not have turkey gravy, so substituted a 1/2 cup of stock. When the turkey was done, the slow cooker yielded about 4 cups of liquid. Plenty of juice for gravy. I did use the bacon; in the end did not affect the flavor of the turkey much, but made the gravy liquid a bit too smoky and overwhelmed the turkey flavor. I will not use the bacon again. All in all, this is a good basic recipe. I'd definitely experiment with more fresh herbs and spices next time, while omitting the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States