Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was great! I used a 3lb. turkey breast, still partially frozen. The only thing I would do differently would be to throw a potato in the crock while its cooking. I'm not sure if its because I used the gravy packet that came with the turkey, but it was a bit salty. The next day, the leftovers were super salty-tasting for some reason. I will definitely be making this again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Amazing! I left it on low for 8 hours and them warm for 2 until it was time for dinner and the meat literally fell off the bones! It was tender and juicy. I doubled the gravy because my turkey was larger then the one called for, then made a roux to thicken it after I removed the turkey from the crock pot. Def going to use this at the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was wonderful! I did not use canned gravy. I had some homemade gravy in the freezer from the last time we smoked a turkey. It really flavored the turkey. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Very good turkey! I accidently bought a seasoned turkey, so the flavor was a little strong. I do plan on making this again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I had an almost 4 pound bone in half turkey breast. I followed the recipe, however I only had powdered gravy mix, so I made that and poured in over the breast. Cooked for 5 hours on low. It was falling apart. I just took a pair of tongs and pulled the meat off the bone. It was so moist and delicious. Will probably do my Thanksgiving boneless turkey breast this way. Wonderful !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Next time I make it, I won't use the canned turkey gravy the recipe calls for (it tastes too artificial). I'd probably add 1-2 cups chicken stock and omit the bacon. Definitely rub with olive oil or butter to keep moist. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Easy recipe. Just make sure the meat is covered by liquid or has bacon on top (or else the meat on that side is very dry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made this for the first time three years ago for a carry in at work. I put the turkey in the crock pot prior to leaving for work and let the rest of the cooking happen while we were waiting for lunch time. By the time lunch came around my team at work was just about salivating over the smell! It was a hit and I was asked for teh recipe by all. Since then, my mom and and I have used this every Thanksgiving! Thank you for such a great and easy way to do a turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is such a delicious recipe. Doing this recipe for Thanksgiving as the main dish gave me so much more time to work on my side dishes, as well as my desserts. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out wonderfully. I will repeat this recipe again for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
The bacon really adds flavor. Turkey can be bland and dry but this recipe really peps it up. I strained out the bacon and thickened the drippings with cornstarch for an ultra rich gravy. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Byrd Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States