Slow Cooker Thai Pork with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Excellent! Everyone liked it from kids to grandma. Made a few changes: 1. At the start: 1.5x the vinegar and teriyaki to make more sauce; added 1/8 C lime juice, 2T sesame oil, 1/4 t lemon peel at beginning of roast. 2. I added the red pepper 1 hr before the end of the roast. 3.At the end of the roast period, upped peanut butter to 1/2 cup and added 1 T hot sauce and about 3-4 T brown sugar (to taste) with the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I think this recipe suffers from an identity crisis. There is nothing "Thai" about this dish. Teriyaki, a Japanese sauce, is combined with peanut butter to emulate satay-style pork. But that needs to be grilled for best effect. In order to give it more of a Thai flavor, I added a kaffir lime leaf, a bit of fish sauce instead of the teriyaki, and some shallots. All in all, the taste was okay, but too peanut buttery. And shredded peanut butter pork on rice just felt...wrong. It was tender and pulled very easily, but I think it is more suited to a sandwich or something. Not bad, but I found myself asking "what do I DO with this stuff?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kaohsiung, Kaohsiung, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Good! I had to substitute low-sodium soy sauce for the teriyaki (thought I had some but I didn't). Also used skinny pork chops and didnt' shred them. Added some lime juice, and fresh lime slices on the side when we ate. Made brown rice instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
This is my husband's favorite recipe. Be sure and thoroughly stir the peanut butter into the drippings left in the pan. It works best when the drippings are still hot. Then add the pork shreds back in and stir - YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Really good. I did make a some of changes though. I used a 2lb roast with some ginger-garlic paste, adding no vegetables. At the end I stir-fried the peppers and some julienned (matchstick)carrots. After all was combined I added thai chili paste and fresh cilanro. The peanut butter thickens as you cook it, so I will try making a little extra sauce the next time. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe yesterday. While we did find it under-spiced for our tastes, we by NO means found it bland or flavor-less. We just added in our own extra red pepper, hot sesame oil, and teriyaki or soy sauce to suit our own tastes. If you were serving this for a mixed crowd - this is definitely the way to go - as you don't know who is spice-adverse. I must say though, that I didn't measure my PB exactly - so I may have used a bit more than the recipe called for. Also, after the pork cooled for a bit in the slow cooker - the peanut butter flavor really hit it's peak and it was wonderful! Next time I make it - I think I will leave a bit more time for the shredded pork to cook in the juices and then SLIGHTLY cool in the slow cooker before serving. I am looking forward to leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Next time, I will add red bell pepper later in the cooking. There was nothing left of these vegetables. Also will add more red pepper and probably some Thai chilli paste, as I thought it was a bit bland. May try to double the sauce so there is more of it, but this could also be that my slow-cooker cooks at a hotter temp. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Very successful dish! The meat and rice seemed plain so I added a side of stir-fry napa cabbage, carrots, and onion done "fake pad thai" style (ketchup, vinegar, sugar. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
this was surprisingly good. a little too peanuty for me, but everyone else raved...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I love this recipe, but for me it needed a lot of tweaking - first of all, I'm a fan of a little heat, and there was not enough red pepper flakes to deliver that. So increase the pepper by a lot. I probably ended up using about 2 tablespoons. More peanut butter - I wanted a sweeter, thicker sauce. Other than that, wow! awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States