Slow Cooker Thai Pork with Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I thought this was VERY good, but I did have to make a few adjustments. First (because I was feeding large hardworking men), I used two pounds of pork loin (the whole kind you find on sale occasionally for around $2/lb here in the midwest and bring home to portion yourself) and cut into 1 lb hunks. Second, I cooked it on high for 4 hours (all the time I had) and the pork was just falling apart. Third, I waited until 2 1/2 hours in to add the peppers, otherwise they would have been mushy. Fourth, I found that after the cooking time alloted, the peanuty flavor had dissappated considerably, so I whisked in an additional tablespoon of peanut butter. I served it over boil in bag brown rice (all I had) and with oven-roasted green beans. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Really enjoyed this dish !! made this in summer with pork and it was fantastic. Just made it again a few days ago and used chicken instead and that came out really well !! Just added a little more peanut butter and a whole lot of diced veggies. This was real good !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miko
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I followed the recipe, but as other suggested added vegetables closer to the end. At 4 hours with just meat and sauce, the pork was 200º F and shreddable. Then I added 3 carrots sliced, 2 small broccoli head florets, a red bell pepper sliced, and an orange bell pepper sliced, then cooked for another 1:15. I ended up doubling the sauce to account for all of the vegetables, but next time I would omit the doubled ginger and red pepper flakes. If you really like ginger and spicy, I'd suggest doubling the sauce as-is. It made 6 hearty servings with the extras, served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miko

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was so easy to make and tastes great with white rice. Awesome sauce!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was a very tasty dish although very spicey. Made exactly as written except only had one red pepper and followed other suggestions to put peppers in recipe later. Also had 1 1/2 pounds of boneless pork chops frozen together so when thawed used all. The house smelled heavenly while cooking. Did 8 hours on low, added peppers four hours in, shredded pork and returned to sauce at 7 hours. Served over rice. Next time, I would double the sauce (except red pepper flakes as dish was quite hot), and make sure I have two red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Easy, tasty, and stuff I almost always have on hand. I wish the sauce would have been thicker, tho, as the pork was a little dry and needed a thicker sauce to cling to it. I had a pork loin roast that I cut into chops, and since I had run out of dry red pepper flakes I used Thai red chili paste. Also served with lots of limes to add sourness. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Flavor was good but the veggies were way too soft and soggy. If I do it again I will wait to put veggies in the pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I cubed the pork before putting in slow cooker, and waited to add the vegetables so they did not get soggy. It was great served over noodles, and you may want to make extra sauce as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Great recipe. I did not change a thing. Family and friends loved it. One suggestion for anyone making this is to put the peppers in 4.5 hours into cooking. Putting them at the beginning makes the peppers break up in the cooking process and all you're left with is the skin. The recipe still tasted great, but I would just change that for myself in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Loved it and next time will add some chili garlic paste to give it some kick. Great with jasmine rice and thai broccoli with garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore

See how to make perfectly tender pork cacciatore in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States