Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Perfect! Followed the recipe to a T and it was great. There were a TON of leftovers. I used a 5 pound roast. I put some of the extra meat in the fridge for later and still had a lot of leftover meat. I filled my muffin pan with scoops of meat. Each individual muffin tin holds the same as a typical sandwich. I put the muffin tin in the freezer and froze the individual serving size leftovers. After about 2 hours I took the tin out removed the meat muffins. Next they went into a ziploc and they will not all stick together. To reheat just pop one in the microwave on 50% power. These are great for a quick sandwich, with rice, with beans, or with eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2009 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Absolutely delicious!!! I would give this one 10 stars! I cooked on low for 10 hours, then shredded and kept it on warm for a couple more hours. I am seriously keeping this recipe forever. This is the perfect weekend bbq/potluck food, and went great with grilled corn on the cob and red potato salad. Also, when you shred the meat you can remove most of the fat. I think you could do without the oil. I used kraft honey bbq sauce - just what I had on hand. SOOOO tasty. You can't stop eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
868 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I pulled 40 lbs. of pork using this recipe for my son's graduation party. I also froze it before reheating it in crockpots. I received many compliments. It turned out much more moist than the root beer recipe I tried earlier. I did serve BBQ on the side, but I'm not sure it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
743 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Made this with a 6 lb. pork loin roast I had bought on reduced for quick sale. I followed the ingredients increased for my size of roast, except for using dry mustard in lieu of prepared and adding liquid smoke. I cooked on high two hours and then low for seven. I took the meat out and it shredded with complete ease two hours before serving, then placed back in the crockpot. There was alot of liquid and needed to reduce a good two cups worth after placing the shredded meat back in the crockpot. Added a bit of BBQ sauce and liquid smoke at that point to give the meat a bit more flavor, even though it was tender, still lacked that BBQ flavor. After another two hours this was the best tasting pork I've evern made in the slow cooker. Our guest even requested to take home some for lunch the next day. I'm not sure I'd add the broth next time, I feel the fat in the meat made plenty of juice. *Note when placing meat in crockpot, always leave the fat side on top so the juices sink down into the meat while cooking...read that somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Good flavor. Estimated cooking time was about right. The only change I made was omitting the thyme as I don't like the flavor with pork. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joefarmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This is amazingly good!! The roast I had was 8 pounds and this recipe easily doubled in my large oval crock pot!! We had lots of leftovers which we froze....and it was just as good after freezing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mouse_nibbles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. My family loved it and it quickly disappeard. I used a 2 1/2 pound pork roast and it turned out perfect. I have tried to find a good recipe for pulled pork for years. My search is over, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I love this recipe! I've made it several times and everyone always goes crazy for it. I use a 6-7 lb. bone-in shoulder. I've used a deboned and a bone-in and the bone-in definitely comes out a little tastier. I leave out the oil and the chicken broth, because I think the broth makes it too juicy and I just don't think the oil is necessary. Instead, I just put in the entire bottle of barbeque sauce. I use like 10 cloves of garlic and a huge vidalia onion. You don't have to bother chopping up the onions or garlic too small because by the time it's done, they're all dissolved. I put in closer to 1/2 cup brown sugar, 8 or so drops of Liquid Smoke, two tablespoons of chili powder and a heaping tablespoon of cinnamon. In my opinion, and I think everyone I've fed this to would agree, the cinnamon is KEY. It makes it SO GOOD and adds such a depth of flavor. The recipe doesn't mention this, but make sure you put the roast in the slow cooker fat side up so it can drip down into the meat while it cooks. I cook it on low overnight for about 12 hours, then pull it and remove all the fat, strain the liquid and add it all back to the cooker for another 4 hours or so. The leftovers really do taste better every day. Make sure to make a semi-sweet southern slaw to go along with it - HEAVEN! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Excellent recipe. I made this for a pot luck at work and it was a huge hit! I followed the recipe almost exactly, but did not use the chili powder (I was out). I seasoned the meat with Famous Dave's Rib Rub and added a tsp of liquid smoke. I cooked it for 8 hours. The meat was falling apart, I had a hard time getting it out of the crockpot to pull it apart. There was a lot of liquid left so I ladled some over the pulled meat and discarded the rest. Served on rolls with Serbian syle coleslaw. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very good! I did add a few more garlic cloves and warmed up extra BBQ sauce as an extra dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 922) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States